Pretoria Police, Impala set up heavyweight Club Champs clash

Sep 17 • Club Rugby, General News, National, Varsity & Club • 3574 Views • Comments Off on Pretoria Police, Impala set up heavyweight Club Champs clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Wing Michael Nienaber of Blue Bulls champions Pretoria Police crashes over for the first of his two tries against WP champions Durbell in the SARU National Club Champs quarter-finals in Rustenburg on Monday.

Hosts Rustenburg Impala will face Blue Bulls champions Pretoria Police in a heavyweight northern-union semi-final at the SARU National Club Championships after both sides recorded impressive wins in Monday’s quarter-finals.

The other semi-final sees 2010 national club champions Jonsson College Rovers face Border champions Broubart Old Selbornians in an all-East Coast affair.

Pretoria Police, the reigning Carlton Cup champions led by evergreen lock Nico Luus, stormed into the last four thanks to an impressive 36-25 win over one of the pre-tournament favourites, WP’s Durbanville-Bellville.

Impala, playing once again in front of a large home crowd, were made to work hard against Golden Lions champions Roodepoort in the day’s main game before running out 31-19 winners.

College Rovers were also made to sweat against EP’s Despatch, coming back from 30-28 down with six minutes to play to win 41-30, thanks to a late try from scrumhalf Shannon Rick and two penalties from replacement fullback Kobus de Kock.

And in the day’s first quarter-final, Border champions Broubart Old Selbornians caused a minor shock when they scored a late try to beat Valke champions Brakpan 28-26. Old Boys’ hero was flyhalf Glen Warner, who kicked 20 points including a vital drop goal.

The country’s northern-union clubs continued their good form in the Plate, with Naka Bulls, Noordelikes, Welkom Rovers and Bloemfontein Police all winning through to Wednesday’s semi-finals.

Day 3 fixtures (Wed):

Cup semi-finals:

11:30 College Rovers v Old Selbornians

16:00 Rustenburg Impala v Pretoria Police

Plate semi-finals:

13:00 Noordelikes v Bloemfontein Police

14:30 Naka Bulls v Welkom Rovers


Day 4 fixtures (Fri 21 Sep):

Cup & Plate Finals (13:00, 15:00, live on SuperSport)

Day 2 results (Mon 17 Sep):

Cup quarter-finals:

 Broubart Old Selbornians 28 – Try: Craig Shone. Conversion: Glen Warner. Penalties: Warner (5). Drop goals: Warner, Stuart Hudson.

Brakpan 26 – Tries: Franco Booysen, Ian Evans. Penalties: Charl Nieuwenhuis (5).

Jonsson College Rovers 41 – Tries: Chris Jordaan, Shannon Rick (2), Kosie Haarhof. Conversions: Jors Dannhauser (3). Penalties: Dannhauser (2), Kobus de Kock (3).

Despatch 30 – Tries: Billy Mentoor, Monty Dumond, Baldwin McBean. Conversions: Dumond (3). Penalties: Dumond (2). Drop goal: Dumond.

Durbanville-Bellville 25 – Tries: Ian Coetzee, Morne Mennigke, Quinten Coetzer. Conversions: Coetzee (2). Penalties: Coetzee (2).

Pretoria Police 36 – Tries: Ruan van Loo, Heinrich Rademeyer, Pieter Strydom, Michael Nienaber (2). Conversions: Dillen Laubsher (4). Penalty: Laubsher.

Rustenburg Impala 31 – Tries: Morne Jooste, Nelis Nel, Jermaine Apollis. Conversions: Willie Kok (2). Penalties: Kok (4).

Roodepoort 19 – Try: Daniel Gibhard. Conversion: Llewellyn le Roux. Penalties: Le Roux (4).

Plate quarter-finals:


Naka Bulls 25 – Tries: F Nel, W Botes, I Erasmus, penalty try. Conversion: P Mulder. Penalty: R Boshoff.

Villagers Worcester 23 – Tries: David Wehr, John Arendse, Yazeed Johnson. Conversion: Emile Smith. Penalty: Godwann Damon. Drop goal: Johnson.

Blanco 22 – Tries: Hentzwill Pedro (3). Conversions: Alaine Jansen (2). Penalty: Jansen.

Welkom Rovers 37 – Tries: WP van Vuuren, Cobus Aucamp, Virgel Russell, Ossie Nortje, Johnnie Fourie. Conversions: Tiaan van Wyk (3). Penalties: Van Wyk (2).

Noordelikes 38 – Tries: Mynardt Smith (2), Zack Botha (2). Conversions: Zander Byleveldt (3). Penalties: (4).

Witrivier 30 – Tries: Johan Smit, Dewald vd Berg (2), Michael de Bruyn.

Bloemfontein Police 22 – Tries: Heino Shepperson, Stevie Meyer (2), Isak Job. Conversion: Job.

Kumba Iron Ore Sishen 17 – Tries: F Steyn, N Peens. Conversions: M Mapanga (2). Penalty: Mapanga.

Day 1 results:

Roodepoort 26

Naka Bulls 12

Jonsson College Rovers 61

Noordelikes 0

Bloemfontein Police 33

Broubart Old Selbornians 43

Durbanville-Bellville 53

Blanco 20

Pretoria Police 43

Welkom Rovers 12

Kumba Iron Ore Sishen 0

Brakpan 28

White River 10

Despatch 72

Rustenburg Impala 53

Villagers Worcester 21

• For all the latest SARU National Club Champs fixtures, results & news, visit or follow us on Twitter @saclubrugby.

Related Posts

« »