Pukke cruise past CUT

Mar 17 • General News, Varsity & Club, Varsity Cup • 1973 Views • Comments Off on Pukke cruise past CUT

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Photo: Marita Holder
FNB NWU-Pukke secured a convincing 53-16 victory over FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International newcomers FNB CUT Ixias in Bloemfontein on Monday.
The Potchefstroom outfit outscored their hosts by seven tries to two, to give their play-off hopes a major boost and consign CUT to another big defeat in what has been a disappointing debut season.
The visitors drew first blood when scrumhalf Dillon Smit got over for the opening try, but the home side hit back soon afterwards through hooker Len Noort to level the scores at 8-8.
NWU-Pukke managed to regroup quickly and two quick tries from fullback Rhyno Smith and outside centre Rowayne Beukman saw them take a 21-8 lead into the first strategy break.
The visitors had the bonus point wrapped up shortly afterwards as left wing Dean Stokes burst over for their fourth try, and the conversion from Smith gave them a commanding 29-8 advantage at half-time.
The one-way traffic continued in the second half as Beukman got over for his second try, leaving CUT staring down another heavy defeat.
The tries kept coming for the visitors, and although CUT were able to respond through flyhalf Duan Pretorius who converted his own try, they were too far off the pace to really threaten NWU-Pukke.
The visitors brought up their half-century at the death to put a stamp on a dominant performance which saw them move up to third place on the standings.
The scorers:
Tries: Noort, Pretorius
Cons: Pretorius 2
For FNB NWU-Pukke:
Tries: Smit, Smith, Beukman 2, Stokes, Williams, Buys
Cons: Smith 6
FNB CUT: 15 Henry Immelman, 14 Dean Kouprihanoff, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Lethole Makoena, 10 Duan Pretorius, 9 Christiaan Erasmus, 8 Jean Pretorius, 7 Jean-Claude Fourie, 6 Frans Sisita, 5 Fanie Coetzee, 4 JJ Nel, 3 Niel Schoombee, 2 Len Noort, 1 Gerard Baard.
Replacements: 16 Juandre Roux, 17 Ian Smith, 18 Rayno Nel, 19 Victor Maruping, 20 Dean Jacobs, 21 Dean Rossouw, 22 Naude van Biljon, 23 Boetie Makethlo.
FNB NWU-Pukke: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Juandre Williams, 13 Rowayne Beukman, 12 Johan Deysel (captain), 11 Dean Stokes, 10 Johnny Welthagen, 9 Dillon Smit, 8 Jaco Buys, 7 Marno Redelinghuys, 6 Armand Liebenberg, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Wian Fourie, 1 Johan Smith.
Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mogau Mabokela, 18 Daniel Jordaan, 19 Moletsi Bouwer, 20 Malherbe Swart, 21 Dalen Goliath, 22 Bouke Tack, 23 Cayle Denner.
Referees: Francois Pretorius, Rodney Boneparte
Assistant referees: Local

Related Posts

« »