Reds confirm side for Chiefs clash at Suncorp Stadium

Apr 27 • Australia, General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1964 Views • Comments Off on Reds confirm side for Chiefs clash at Suncorp Stadium

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn has made two changes to his starting XV to take on the Chiefs at Suncorp Stadium this Friday night in Round 11 of Super Rugby Pacific.

Backrower Angus Scott-Young will make his first run-on appearance since Round 2 after overcoming a knee injury, while Josh Flook will also return to the starting side on the wing in place of Filipo Daugunu.

Off the bench, abrasive lock Lukhan Salakaia-Loto and the dynamic Seru Uru will also return from injury as Queensland face the Chiefs at Suncorp Stadium for the first time since 2018.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “After a few weeks away it’s good to be back home and playing in front of our Queensland fans again.

“The Chiefs are a very good side. They’re coming off a big win and will provide a tough opposition on Friday night.

“There’s a big month of rugby ahead against the New Zealanders. There’s some strong competition coming up and we’re looking forward to the challenge,” said Thorn.

Flook starts alongside Suliasi Vunivalu and Jock Campbell in the back three, as Hamish Stewart and Hunter Paisami again combine in the centres.

Lawson Creighton will make his second Super Rugby start at flyhalf alongside captain Tate McDermott in the halves.

Scott-Young returns to the starting backrow alongside the in-form Fraser McReight and Harry Wilson, with Ryan Smith and Angus Blyth starting as locks.

Taniela Tupou, Richie Asiata and Harry Hoopert also reprise their combination in the frontrow as Queensland look to make it two-in-a-row against the Chiefs after defeating the Waikato-based side in Townsville last year.

Off the bench, Mac Grealy and Spencer Jeans also return to the team alongside Salakaia-Loto and Uru.

Tickets are available via, with the match streamed live and exclusively via Stan Sport.

Queensland Reds v Chiefs, Suncorp Stadium, kick-off 7:45pm AEST:

Harry Hoopert – Brothers
Richie Asiata – Easts
Taniela Tupou – Brothers
Ryan Smith – Brothers
Angus Blyth – Bond University
Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
Fraser McReight – Brothers
Harry Wilson – Brothers
Tate McDermott (c) – University of Queensland
Lawson Creighton – Brothers
Josh Flook – Brothers
Hamish Stewart – Brothers
Hunter Paisami – Wests
Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
Matt Faessler – Brothers
Dane Zander – Norths
Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank
Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
Seru Uru – Wests
Spencer Jeans – Bond University
Filipo Daugunu – Wests
Mac Grealy – University of Queensland

Related Posts

« »