Rokoduguni named in match day squad for New Zealand

Nov 4 • General News, International • 1796 Views • Comments Off on Rokoduguni named in match day squad for New Zealand

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

  • Four Bath Rugby backs retained by Lancaster
  • Team to face All Blacks named at 9:45am on Thursday

Uncapped Semesa Rokoduguni is among 23 players retained by Stuart Lancaster to prepare for Saturday’s QBE International against New Zealand at Twickenham Stadium.

The Fijian-born tank soldier is one of four Bath Rugby backs included after sparkling Aviva Premiership form, with Anthony Watson also being included in a Test match day squad for the first time alongside Kyle Eastmond and George Ford.

In the forwards, uncapped Saracens lock George Kruis is included for the first time after Joe Launchbury was ruled out of the 2014 QBE Internationals with a neck injury. Front row duo Joe Marler and David Wilson have trained fully this week after minor injuries and take their slots to face the All Blacks.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We’ve had a good few days’ training on the back of last week. The players have worked really hard and everyone who has been in camp has pushed hard for selection and their attitude has been fantastic. We are excited about the squad we have picked and we are looking forward to getting back to Twickenham this weekend and taking on a team of the quality of New Zealand.”

England squad to face New Zealand

Forwards (13) 
Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)
Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Matt Mullan (Wasps)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
Rob Webber (Bath Rugby)
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Backs (10) 
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Bath Rugby)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Returning to Aviva Premiership clubs: 
Calum Clark (Northampton Saints)
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
Alex Goode (Saracens)
James Haskell (Wasps)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
David Paice (London Irish)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)
Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
Marland Yarde (Harlequins)

Related Posts

« »