SA Schools coaches opt for continuity for U19 Series finale

Aug 19 • General News, International, SA Schools, School • 3131 Views • Comments Off on SA Schools coaches opt for continuity for U19 Series finale

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

SA Schools coach Lance Sendin and SA Schools A coach Sean Erasmus opted for continuity in selection for their final Under-19 International Series matches at Paarl Boys’ High on Saturday against England and Wales respectively as they look to finish the tournament on a winning note.

Sendin made only two changes to his team, with Paarl Boys prop Reece Bezuidenhout and HTS Middelburg flanker JC Pretorius earning starts in place of Nathan McBeth and Charl Serdyn respectively.

Erasmus, meanwhile, made an injury-enforced change to the SA Schools A team for their clash against Wales, with winger Ayabonga Oliphant coming in for fullback Abner van Reenen, who is nursing a quadriceps strain.

This resulted in two positional switches to the team, with Austin Davids moving from wing to fullback, and Tadendaishe Mujawo starting on the right wing to make place for Oliphant on the left wing.

Sendin said it was tough to select his team for their closing match against England as all the players in the squad had immense potential.

“It was really difficult to select this squad, but we opted for the player combinations we thought would be the best to execute the game plan we would like to play against England,” said Sendin. “With only two changes, we will have the luxury of continuity in selection, which will be good against the physical and determined English team. They have suffered defeats in both their matches up to now, so we are expecting them to give their all to finish the tournament on a winning note. But we are equally determined to complete the tournament unbeaten, so it will be a good test for both teams.”

Erasmus, who is also the Paarl Boys’ High 1st XV coach, meanwhile, said the continuity in selection in the SA Schools A team was driven by the desire to reward the players who guided them to a 53-14 victory against England on Tuesday.

“We felt that it was important to reward the players for the good form they showed against England, and hopefully we will be able to build on that this week,” said Erasmus. “Our focus at training has been on getting our game plan to function smoothly and improving our accuracy. Wales are a good side and they very are clinical in their approach, so we will have to be at our best to beat them.”

France and Italy will kick off the day’s action at Paarl Boys’ High on Saturday when they meet at 11h15.

All three matches will be broadcast on channel 198, SuperSport’s pop-up channel.

SA Schools team to face England:

Nr Name School
15 Gianni Lombard Paarl Boys
14 Mike Mavovana Rondebosch Boys
13 Manuel Rass Paarl Boys
12 Rikus Pretorius Grey College, Bloem
11 Muller du Plessis Paarl Gym
10 Damian Willemse Paul Roos
9 Richman Gora Welkom Gymnasium
8 Khwezi Mafu Grey High, PE
7 Muller Uys Paarl Gym
6 JC Pretorius HTS Middelburg
5 Ben-Jason Dixon Paul Roos
4 Salmaan Moerat (captain) Paarl Boys
3 Sazi Sandi St Andrews College
2 Daniel Jooste Paarl Boys
1 Reece Bezuidenhout Paarl Boys
16 PJ Botha Monument
17 Nathan McBeth Monument
18 Johan Neethling Paarl Boys
19 PJ Steenkamp Garsfontein
20 Charl Serdyn Paarl Boys
21 Rewan Kruger Grey College, Bloem
22 Ruan de Swardt Affies
23 Wandisile Simelane Jeppe
24 Khanya Ncusane Paarl Boys
25 Emilio Adonis Garsfontein
26 Sihle Njezula Grey High, PE


SA Schools A team to face Wales:

Nr Name School
15 Austin Davids Garsfontein
14 Tadendaishe Mujawo St Benedict’s
13 Janco van Heyningen Grey College, Bloem
12 Louritz Van der Schyff (captain) Affies
11 Ayabonga Oliphant Grey High, PE
10 Tyrone Green Jeppe
9 Zinedine Booysen Oakdale
8 Dian Schoonees Grey College, Bloem
7 Francke Horn Paarl Boys High
6 Athi Magwala Boland Landbou
5 Juan van der Mescht Glenwood
4 Ryno Pieterse Garsfontein
3 Keagan Glade KES
2 Schalk Erasmus Affies
1 Cabous Eloff Affies
16 Dylan Richardson Kearsney College
17 Gugu Nelani Northwood
18 Mornay Smith Eldoraigne
19 Christopher Havenga Monument
20 Mark Snyman Helpmekaar
21 Ruan Vermaak Monument
22 Sanele Nohamba DHS
23 Lubabalo Dobela Grey High, PE
24 Sicelo Tole Muir College
25 Cameron Hufke Noord-Kaap
26 Abner van Reenen Garsfontein

Related Posts

« »