SA Schools teams named for Bishops battles

Aug 15 • General News, International, SA Schools, School • 2866 Views • Comments Off on SA Schools teams named for Bishops battles

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

SA Schools coach Lance Sendin has made six changes to his side for the second round of matches in the U19 International Series at Bishops in Cape Town on Tuesday, while his SA Schools A counterpart Sean Erasmus made wholesale changes to his team, with only four players retaining their places in the starting line-up.

The SA Schools team will face France at 16h00 on Tuesday, while the SA Schools A team takes on England at 14h30. In the other clash Wales and Italy will go head-to-head at 13h00.

Sendin made six changes to the starting team that defeated Wales 23-17 at City Park Stadium on Friday, with the three changes in the backline seeing Manuel Rass getting a run at outside centre, Muller du Plessis starting on the left wing and Richman Gora running out at scrumhalf. They replace Wandisile Simelane, Sihle Njezula and Rewan Kruger respectively.

The changes to the forwards will see hooker Daniel Jooste replacing Pieter Botha in the front row, while Ben-Jason Dixon will join forces with captain Salmaan Moerat in the engine room in place of PJ Steenkamp, and No 8 Khwezi Mafu takes over from Khanya Ncusane.

It was important to maintain some form of continuity in selection after building good momentum in the opening match against Wales, but at the same time we wanted to give some deserving players a chance to start,” said Sendin.

“France will test us as they showed against England last week, and they will be high on confidence after winning their opening game, so we have to be focused throughout the match. It is also vital that we use our point-scoring chances effectively.”

The final round of matches will be hosted at Paarl Boys’ High on Saturday.

SA Schools team to face France:


Position Name School
15 Gianni Lombard Paarl Boys High
14 Mike Mavovana Rondebosch Boys
13 Manuel Rass Paarl Boys High
12 Rikus Pretorius Grey College, Bloem
11 Muller du Plessis Paarl Gym
10 Damian Willemse Paul Roos High
9 Richman Gora Welkom Gymnasium
8 Khwezi Mafu Grey High, PE
7 Muller Uys Paarl Gym
6 Charl Serdyn Paarl Boys High
5 Ben-Jason Dixon Paul Roos
4 Salmaan Moerat (captain) Paarl Boys High
3 Sazi Sandi St Andrews College
2 Daniel Jooste Paarl Boys High
1 Nathan McBeth Monument
16 PJ Botha Monument
17 Reece Bezuidenhout Paarl Boys High
18 Johan Neethling Paarl Boys High
19 PJ Steenkamp Garsfontein
20 JC Pretorius HTS Middelburg
21 Rewan Kruger Grey College, Bloem
22 Ruan de Swardt Affies
23 Wandisile Simelane Jeppe
24 Khanya Ncusane Paarl Boys High
25 Emilio Adonis Garsfontein
26 Sihle Njezula Grey High, PE


SA Schools A team to face England:


Position Name School
15 Abner van Reenen Garsfontein
14 Austin Davids Garsfontein
13 Janco van Heyningen Grey College, Bloem
12 Louritz Van der Schyff (captain) Affies
11 Tadendaishe Mujawo St Benedict’s
10 Tyrone Green Jeppe
9 Zinedine Booysen Oakdale
8 Dian Schoonees Grey College, Bloem
7 Francke Horn Paarl Boys High
6 Athi Magwala Boland Landbou
5 Juan van der Mescht Glenwood
4 Ryno Pieterse Garsfontein
3 Keagan Glade KES
2 Schalk Erasmus Affies
1 Cabous Eloff Affies
16 Dylan Richardson Kearsney College
17 Gugu Nelani Northwood
18 Mornay Smith Eldoraigne
19 Christopher Havenga Monument
20 Mark Snyman Helpmekaar
21 Ruan Vermaak Monument
22 Sanele Nohamba DHS
23 Lubabalo Dobela Grey High, PE
24 Sicelo Tole Muir College
25 Cameron Hufke Noord-Kaap
26 Ayabonga Oliphant Grey High, PE

Related Posts

« »