SA Sevens squad return to Singapore

Oct 27 • Blitz Bokke, General News, International, Sevens Rugby • 1692 Views • Comments Off on SA Sevens squad return to Singapore

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Springbok Sevens squad members travelled to the Far East on Tuesday to continue with their pre-season preparations for the upcoming season. The squad, which features several promising youngsters, will take part in the annual Singapore Cricket Club Sevens this coming weekend.

Several strong international squads will be in action during the 68th edition of the popular three-day event. The SARU Sevens Academy team is one of 22 outfits at the tournament, which also features players from France, England, Malaysia, Sweden, Kenya and Australia.

The South Africans are making a return to Singapore after a three-year absence and they will be determined to add to the three Ablitt Cup titles.

Springbok Sevens captain Kyle Brown spearheads a strong 12-man squad which also include the likes of Frankie Horne, Stephan Dippenaar, Phillip Snyman, Justin Geduld and Cecil Afrika. Promising Eastern Province prospect Siviwe Soyizwapi will again accompany the squad following his selection for the warm-up tournament in Windhoek last month, while Rosko Specman is also back after completing his Absa Currie Cup stint with the Steval Pumas.

Springbok Sevens coach, Neil Powell, described the Singapore tournament as a vital part of his pre-season training plans.

Powel said: “Tournaments such as this one in Singapore and also the Windhoek event are vital for our preparations. It will give us the opportunity to test the new combinations we have been rehearsing at our training camp in Stellenbosch.”

“Although we have been working very hard since the squad got together from their off-season, the reality is that most of them have not played in a competitive match since the previous season finished in May,” added Powell.

According to the coach, members of the training squad have spent a lot of time on getting their fitness and conditioning back into shape following the end of season break.

The three day tournament will be staged from 30 October to 1 November at the Padang sports complex.

The SARU Sevens Academy squad to participate in the Singapore Cricket Club Sevens tournament:

  1. Chris Dry
  2. Phillip Snyman
  3. Frankie Horne
  4. Dewald Human
  5. Shaun Adendorf
  6. Kyle Brown
  7. Siviwe Soyizwapi (EP Kings)
  8. Stephan Dippenaar
  9. Justin Geduld
  10. Cecil Afrika
  11. Ruhan Nel
  12. Rosko Specman

Related Posts

« »