SA u20 BabyBoks aiming for convincing Namibia performance

May 10 • BabyBoks U20, International, Junior Rugby, World Rugby • 3053 Views • Comments Off on SA u20 BabyBoks aiming for convincing Namibia performance

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

SA U20 aiming for convincing Namibia performance

The SA Under-20 team will be aiming for a convincing performance against the senior Namibia side when the two teams clash at 14:50 on Saturday at the Paul Roos Markötter Stadium in Stellenbosch.

It will be the last outing for the Junior Springboks before they head off to France where they will defend their IRB Junior World Championship title next month.

The squad spent the past week in Cape Town in preparation for the match, but they will have to make do without the services of several first-choice players who have all been ruled out of action  because of injury. Jan Serfontein, Sergeal Petersen, Handré Pollard and also Dries Swanepoel will all watch the encounter against Namibia from the sidelines.

Despite the absence of Pollard, Serfontein (both 2012 JWC winners) and the elusive Petersen, SA U20 coach Dawie Theron can still on the attacking skills of Springbok Sevens stars Seabelo Senatla and Justin Geduld as well as Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Western Province).

The SA U20 backline was in good form in Argentina recently, helping the team to score 12 tries against the Los Pumitas despite losing the series 2-1. Theron will especially hope that his forwards will be able compete aggressively against a Namibian side who will pose a huge physical challenge upfront.

The SA players return to their respective provinces on Sunday and will assemble again on 26 May before flying out to France three days later.

The teams are:

South Africa Under-20:

15. Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Western Province)

14. Luther Obi (Platinum Leopards)

13. Justin Geduld (SARU contracted)

12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted)

10. Robert du Preez (The Sharks)

9. Stefan Ungerer (The Sharks)

8. Aidon Davis (EP Kings)

7. Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

6. Ruan Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls, captain)

5. Dennis Visser (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

4. Irne Herbst (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

3. Marne Coetzee (The Sharks)

2. Jacques du Toit (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

1. Andrew Beerwinkel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)



16. Sti Sithole (DHL Western Province)

17. Mike Willemse (DHL Western Province)

18. Jannes Kirsten (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

19. Roelof Smit (Vodacom Blue Bulls)/Kwagga Smith (MTN Golden Lions)

20. Percy Williams (MTN Golden Lions)

21. Sylvian Mahuza (Platinum Leopards)

22. Jacques Rossouw

23. Luhan de Bruin (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)



15. Justin Nel

14. Malcolm Moore

13. Divan Visser

12. Eneill Buitendag

11. Johan Tromp

10. Theuns Kotze

9.  Arthur Bouwer

8. PJ Van Lill (captain)

7. Munee Tjiuza

6. Rohan Kitshoff

5. Joe Mururua

4. Ian Van Wyk

3. Jaco Swanepoel

2. Callie Swanepoel

1. Johnny Redelinghuys



16. Rathony Bekker

17. Shaun Du Preez

18. Hauta Veii

19. Stefan Neustadt

20. Awie Thompson

21. PJ Walters

22. Jacques Nell

23. Shaun Kaizemi


Kick-off time: 14:50, Saturday 11 May 2013, Paul Roos Markötter Stadium, Stellenbosch

Related Posts

« »