Sadie and Hougaard return for Bulls

Mar 21 • National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 2783 Views • Comments Off on Sadie and Hougaard return for Bulls

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Zane Kirchner. Photo by Anton Geyser /Rugby15

Francois Hougaard and Johann Sadie are back in the Vodacom Bulls team that will play the Reds in a Vodacom Super Rugby match at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

Hougaard is available again after missing the Blues game due to suspension and Sadie has recovered from a shoulder injury that kept him out of the Cheetahs and Blues matches.

Their inclusions are the only two changes in the starting line-up for coach Frans Ludeke.

Hougaard replaces Jano Vermaak, who moves to the bench and Sadie will replace Francois Venter. Sadie will play at outside centre and Wynand Olivier at inside centre.

CJ Stander, who replaced Deon Stegmann shortly before the Blues match, will continue in that role with Stegmann still having discomfort from a strained hamstring.

Arno Botha is the new replacement loose forward in place of Gerrit-Jan van Velze. The 20 year old Botha has recovered from a back injury and proved his fitness for the Blue Bulls against the Pumas in a Vodacom Cup game last week. He will make his Super Rugby debut, should he take to the field.

Ludeke said the Reds will be their biggest challenge so far this season.

“They are the champions and that will be how high the bar will be set. We will have to deliver a championship performance if we want to beat them. The effort against the Blues was below par and we know that.  We worked hard to be accurate on the weekend and to create and convert chances.”

The team to play the Reds (with Super caps):

Zane Kirchner (57), Akona Ndungane (70), Johann Sadie (8), Wynand Olivier (89),  Bjorn Basson (28), Morné Steyn (92), Francois Hougaard (31), Pierre Spies (75, k), Jacques Potgieter (3), CJ Stander (3), Juandré Kruger (3),   Flip van der Merwe (37), Werner Kruger (61), Chiliboy Ralepelle (38), Dean Greyling (18).

Replacements: Willie Wepener (43), Frik Kirsten (5), Wilhelm Steenkamp (39), Arno Botha (0)*, Jano Vermaak (75), Louis Fouché (3), JJ Engelbrecht (3).

* First cap


●Morné Steyn is the leading South African point scorer in Super Rugby ever and should extend that record. He has scored 1020 points (10 tries, 182 penalties, 179 conversions and 22 dropped goals) this far.

●Wynand Olivier is the most experience South African centre in Super Rugby and will play in his 90th match.

Related Posts

« »