Scotland U20 side named for Six Nations opener

Feb 1 • General News, International • 965 Views • Comments Off on Scotland U20 side named for Six Nations opener

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Head Coach Sean Lineen has named his Scotland U20 side to play their Irish counterparts in the opening game of the Six Nations Championship, this Friday (3 February) at Broadwood Stadium (kick-off 8.30pm) – live on Scottish Rugby TV.

Of the 23-man squad named, 16 players are products of the BT Sports Scottish Rugby Academy and eight have experience of playing international rugby at U20 level.

Head Coach, Sean Lineen, said: “A lot of players have made a statement during the preparation camps and their hard work and effort has merited a spot in the side for Friday’s Championship opener.

“A lot of those involved this week are new to the international stage, but they have the quality to compete and we have no doubt they will rise to the occasion.

“Ireland is going to be physical and astute, and we’ll have to be at the top of our game to match them in all facets. However, we’re going to relish in the challenge and we look forward to doing so in front of our home support.”

Hawick’s Darcy Graham is set to start at full-back, with Ross McCann and Robbie Nairn occupying the wings.

Cameron Hutchison and Craig Pringle start in midfield, with Andrew Simmers and Josh Henderson forming the half-back duo.

In the forwards, George Thornton and Adam Nicol pack-down at prop either side of hooker Fraser Renwick, while Callum Hunter-Hill – who will captain the side – starts in the second-row alongside Alex Craig.

Luke Crosbie and Matt Fagerson start on the blindside and openside flank respectively and will be joined in the back-row by Tom Dodd, who will don the number eight shirt.

Scotland U20 team to play Ireland U20 in the U20 Six Nations Championship at Broadwood Stadium this Friday (3 February, kick-off 8.30pm) – live on Scottish Rugby TV

15. Darcy Graham (Hawick)**

14. Robbie Nairn (Harlequins)
13. Craig Pringle (Stirling County)*
12. Cameron Hutchison (Currie)**
11. Ross McCann (Melrose)**

10. Josh Henderson (Glasgow Hawks)*
9. Andrew Simmers (Heriot’s)

1. George Thornton (Bishop Burton College)
2. Fraser Renwick (Hawick)*
3. Adam Nicol (Stirling County)
4. Alex Craig (Gloucester)
5. Callum Hunter-Hill CAPTAIN (Stirling County)**
6. Luke Crosbie (Currie)**
7. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Hawks)**
8. Tom Dodd (Worcester Warriors)


16. Robbie Smith (Ayr)*
17. Daniel Winning (Boroughmuir)**
18. Fergus Bradbury (Stirling County)*
19. Hamish Bain (Currie)*
20. Jamie Ure (Boroughmuir)*
21. Bruce Flockhart (Glasgow Hawks)**
22. Charlie Shiel (Currie)**
23. Stafford McDowall (Ayr)

* BT Sports Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 player
** BT Sports Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 player

Related Posts

« »