Sharks side named to play the Bulls

Apr 16 • General News, Super Rugby • 1888 Views • Comments Off on Sharks side named to play the Bulls

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Cell C Sharks team named to play the Bulls at Growthpoint KINGS PARK on Saturday shows nominal changes to the side that was picked last weekend, with two Springbok additions.

The only changes to the starting XV are in a front row that this week features the Springbok prop duo of Jannie du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira (pictured) who return after an enforced rest last week as part of the agreement with the Springboks to provide regular breaks to the players.

Marco Wentzel retains the captaincy of a side that will look to build from the positives they took out of their clash with the Lions last weekend, the backline remaining unchanged.

With just four points separating the top four South African sides in the local Conference, this game takes on an interesting hue as the competition hits the second half of the regular season.  This match also marks the tenth game in a row for the Cell C Sharks who will be the only side yet to enjoy a bye after this weekend, although they enjoy a break next weekend ahead of their four match overseas trip.

With the prospect of the Highlanders and Hurricanes in New Zealand and the Waratahs and Reds in Australia before returning to Durban for two final home games, Saturday’s derby against the Bulls comes at a vital time for the Cell C Sharks.

The Cell C Sharks

15. Odwa Ndungane
14. S’bura Sithole
13. Waylon Murray
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Fred Zeilinga
9. Cobus Reinach
8. Renaldo Bothma
7. Willem Alberts
6. Marcell Coetzee
5. Marco Wentzel (Captain)
4. Mouritz Botha
3. Jannie du Plessis
2. Franco Marais
1. Beast Mtawarira

16. Monde Hadebe
17. Thomas du Toit
18. Lourens Adriaanse
19. Lubabalo Mtyanda
20. Etienne Oosthuizen
21. Conrad Hoffmann
22. Lionel Cronje
23. SP Marais

Photo: @HowzitJax

Courtesy of The Cell C Sharks

Related Posts

« »