Sharks team to play the Brumbies

Mar 28 • General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 1585 Views • Comments Off on Sharks team to play the Brumbies

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

 Sharks Coach John Plumtree has brought back two familiar faces into the starting line-up for Saturday’s Vodacom Super Rugby clash against the Brumbies in Canberra, along with another, enforced change to last week’s side.

While The Sharks suffered a mini injury crisis after the Reds’ game at Mr Price KINGS PARK in their final home game before hitting their four week overseas tour, they have welcomed them all back together with the inclusion of Jean Deysel who jetted in over the weekend to join up with the squad.

Steven Sykes has been passed fit to start on Saturday after playing off the bench last week, following an injury picked up in the Reds’ match two weeks ago in the only change to the pack. Amongst the backs, Pat Lambie has been ruled out with a dental injury, with French International Fred Michalak named to start at flyhalf in his place.

The return from injury of JP Pietersen sees him back at outside centre to partner Tim Whitehead who shifts back to inside centre after playing in the unfamiliar role of 13 against the Waratahs.

Anton Bresler will play off the bench in a rotational switch with Sykes while Jean Deysel will look to get his first Super Rugby start of the year after 75 minutes for The Sharks XV in their Vodacom Cup match against Free State last Friday evening.

Craig Burden and Wiehahn Herbst offer front row stocks off the bench with Jacques Botes the fifth forward named amongst the subs. Meyer Bosman and Louis Ludik complete the 22 man match squad.

The Brumbies are targeting a fourth win from five starts to continue an impressive start to the season which sees them top of the Australian Conference and third on the overall log, while The Sharks will be looking to consolidate on some good performances of late, and specifically shoring up defensive lapses that cost them against the Waratahs last Saturday in Sydney.

The Sharks

1. Dale Chadwick, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 4. Steven Sykes, 5. Jandre Marais, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 7. Willem Alberts, 8. Keegan Daniel (Captain), 9. Charl McLeod, 10. Frederic Michalak, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 12. Tim Whitehead, 13. JP Pietersen, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 15. Riaan Viljoen.

16. Craig Burden, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Anton Bresler, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Jacques Botes, 21. Meyer Bosman, 22. Louis Ludik.

Related Posts

« »