SONNY BILL AMONG THE RETURNING CHIEFS

Apr 15 • General News, Super Rugby • 2283 Views • Comments Off on SONNY BILL AMONG THE RETURNING CHIEFS

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

Chiefs head coach Dave Rennie has made five changes to his starting XV for Friday’s clash with the Crusaders in Christchurch.

Brad Weber starts at scrumhalf and Sonny Bill Williams and Charlie Ngatai return from injury to take their place in the midfield.

Tim Nanai-Williams comes onto the right wing with Tom Marshall moving to fullback while Michael Fitzgerald, Augustine Pulu and Andrew Horrell all join the reserves.

The Chiefs won the corresponding fixture between these sides, 40-16 in Hamilton in Round 3. Despite that result, Rennie expects a tough battle against the seven-time champions.

“The Crusaders are a quality side,” he said.

“Our previous encounters with them have been of test match intensity and this is a must win game for both sides to remain in touch with the Hurricanes.”

Chiefs: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (c), 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Mitchell Graham.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Siate Tokolahi, 18 Pauliasi Manu, 19 Michael Fitzgerald, 20 Liam Squire, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Bryce Heem.

Date: Friday, April 17
Venue: AMI Stadium Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off: 19:35 local (17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST, 07:35 GMT)
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant referees: Kane McBride, Brendon Pickerill
TMO: Ben Skeen

Courtesy of SARU

Related Posts

« »