Springbok team for Tri-Nations opener.

Jul 8 • International, World Rugby • 1332 Views • Comments Off on Springbok team for Tri-Nations opener.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


On Thursday, Coach Peter de Villiers named his team to face the All Blacks in the first match of the 2010 Tri-Nations.

The good news is that Bakkies Botha has been declared fit and will continue his record breaking partnership with Victor Matfield.

Jean de Villiers’ size and experience earned him the nod ahead of Gio Aplon who will warm the bench.

There was however no space for the youngster Juan de Jongh, with Wynand Olivier picked in the starting line-up and Butch James riding the bench.

Zane Kirchner
Jean de Villiers
Jaque Fourie
Wynand Olivier
Bryan Habana
Morné Steyn
Ricky Januarie
Pierre Spies
Francois Louw
Schalk Burger
Victor Matfield
Bakkies Botha
Jannie du Plessis
John Smit (captain)
Gurthro Steenkamp.

Subs: Chiliboy Ralepelle, BJ Botha, Andries Bekker, Danie Rossouw, Ruan Pienaar, Butch James, Gio Aplon

Date: Saturday, July 10
Venue: Eden Park, Auckland
Kick-off: 09h35 SA Time(GMT+2) – 19h35 NZ Time
Referee: Alan Lewis (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland), Stuart Dickinson (Australia)

Related Posts

« »