Springboks released for Absa Currie Cup action

Aug 1 • International, National • 1330 Views • Comments Off on Springboks released for Absa Currie Cup action

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

A group of 23 players involved in the Springboks’ preliminary Rugby World Cup squad have been released back to their clubs and provinces to be available for Absa Currie Cup selection this weekend. The list includes 15 of the 29 players who were part of the squad for the away leg of the Castle Tri-Nations Series.

The Springbok squad for the home leg of the Castle Tri-Nations series will be announced by electronic media release on Friday.

“Eight of this group have not played any rugby since the end of the Vodacom Super Rugby competition and have been on rehabilitation programmes, with their European clubs or with the Springbok squad,” said Springbok coach Peter de Villiers.

“Our medical team is continuing assessments on the remainder of the players who were unavailable for selection for the away leg. There are still injury concerns around a number of them.”

The eight players who have not appeared since the end of the Super Rugby season are: BJ Botha, Heinrich Brüssow, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Francois Louw, Johann Muller, Adriaan Strauss and Coenie Oosthuizen.

De Villiers said the players released back to their provinces and clubs remained in contention for Springbok selection for the Castle Tri-Nations and Rugby World Cup.

Players released are:

Player Province/Club
Bjorn Basson Vodacom Blue Bulls
BJ Botha Munster, Ireland
Heinrich Brüssow Toyota Free State Cheetahs
Adrian Jacobs The Sharks
Elton Jantjies MTN Lions
Zane Kirchner Vodacom Blue Bulls
Patrick Lambie The Sharks
Francois Louw Bath, England
Charl McLeod The Sharks
Lwazi Mvovo The Sharks
Odwa Ndungane The Sharks
Wynand Olivier Vodacom Blue Bulls
Dean Greyling Vodacom Blue Bulls
Alistair Hargreaves The Sharks
Ryan Kankowski The Sharks
Werner Kruger Vodacom Blue Bulls
Ashley Johnson Toyota Free State Cheetahs
Johann Muller Ulster, Northern Ireland
Coenie Oosthuizen Toyota Free State Cheetahs
Chiliboy Ralepelle Vodacom Blue Bulls
Deon Stegmann Vodacom Blue Bulls
Adriaan Strauss Toyota Free State Cheetahs
Flip van der Merwe Vodacom Blue Bulls


Related Posts

« »