St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 17 team against Blues at Suncorp Stadium

Jun 5 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1296 Views • Comments Off on St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 17 team against Blues at Suncorp Stadium

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s match against the Blues at Suncorp Stadium. 

Lock Izack Rodda returns from his Wallabies rest week, as Lukhan Salakaia-Loto sits out for the same reason this match in accordance with Rugby Australia’s workload management policy.

After making his Super Rugby debut against the Jaguares last weekend, Scott Malolua will start for the first time at scrumhalf in favour of Tate McDermott who’s sidelined with an ankle injury.

While Alex Mafi comes back into the starting side at hooker with Brandon Paenga-Amosa dropping to the bench and Moses Sorovi back in the 23 this week.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “Izack Rodda sat out last week’s match as requested by Rugby Australia. This week it’s Lukhan Salakaia-Loto’s turn to have his Wallabies rest.

“Tate McDermott is out with an ankle injury. Scott Malolua takes his place in the starting side for the first time. Scott made his Queensland debut off the bench last week and embraced the contest against a team filled with Test players. He deserves this opportunity.

“We’re playing in front of our Queensland fans for the final time this year. We thank them for their support and look forward to seeing them on Friday night,” said Thorn.

Themed ‘Beat the Blues’ – Friday’s match will be the Reds’ first ever Super Rugby Mental Health Round.

The game will raise awareness of mental health issues within Rugby as part of the Queensland Rugby Union’s (QRU) Rugby Unite mental health program.

The world-first Rugby Unite program, in partnership with the Queensland Government and the Queensland Mental Health Commission, provides mental health awareness sessions and volunteer training at all Queensland rugby clubs.

Queensland play the Blues on Friday night at 7:45pm AEST and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

St.George Queensland Reds v Blues – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on June 7 at 7:45pm AEST

1. JP Smith – GPS
2. Alex Mafi – Bond University
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
4. Izack Rodda – Easts
5. Angus Blyth – Bond University
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. Liam Wright – Easts
8. Scott Higginbotham – Wests 
9. Scott Malolua – Souths*
10. Matt McGahan – Norths
11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
12. Samu Kerevi – Souths (c)
13. Chris Feauai-Sautia – Souths
14. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
15. Bryce Hegarty – GPS

16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
17. Ruan Smith – GPS 
18. Gav Luka – Bond University  
19. Harry Hockings – University of Queensland 
20. Adam Korczyk – University of Queensland 
21. Moses Sorovi – Wests
22. Duncan Paia’aua – Norths
23. Hamish Stewart – Bond University

*Denotes Super Rugby/Queensland starting debut

Related Posts

« »