St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 6 team against Waratahs

Mar 24 • Australia, General News, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 943 Views • Comments Off on St.George Queensland Reds announce Round 6 team against Waratahs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The St.George Queensland Reds have made four changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s away match against the Waratahs in Sydney.

Ryan Smith will make his starting debut at lock, while the versatile Seru Uru will start at number-eight following an impressive 2021 season so far.

Filipo Daugunu returns to the left wing this week, with Brandon Paenga-Amosa back in the starting side at hooker for Saturday’s match at Stadium Australia.

Paenga-Amosa’s inclusion means Alex Mafi will come off the bench in one-of-four further changes to the Reds’ reserves.

Fresh after claiming the Australian Club Championship with Easts last weekend, Richie Asiata returns to the 23 as a replacement loosehead prop.

Backrower Sam Wallis also finds himself in the 23 again and could potentially make his Super Rugby debut, while Uru’s promotion to the starting side sees Harry Wilson as a finisher this weekend.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re looking forward to a tough contest against the Waratahs down in Sydney.

“After a big pre-season, Seru has been in some really good form and has earned his opportunity to get a start this week.

“This will be Ryan Smith’s first start in Super Rugby. It’s good pay for his constant hard work in our program and his development.

“You’ve also got Sam Wallis and Kalani Thomas on the bench who could make their Super Rugby debuts which is exciting.

“While at the other end, Angus Scott-Young will play his 50th game for Queensland. He’s a leader on-and-off the field and as a group, we congratulate him on this achievement,” said Thorn.

Queensland play the Waratahs on Saturday night at 6:45pm AEST and will be broadcast live on 9Gem and simulcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport.

The Reds are on the road again next week travelling to Melbourne against the Rebels, before returning home in Round 8 to host the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium in their final home match of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby AU regular season – CLICK HERE for tickets.

St.George Queensland Reds v New Soutth Wales Waratahs – Stadium Australia, Sydney on 27 March at 6:45pm AEST

  1. Dane Zander – Norths
  2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
  3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
  4. Ryan Smith* – Brothers
  5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
  6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
  7. Fraser McReight – Brothers
  8. Seru Uru – Easts
  9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
  10. James O’Connor – Brothers ©
  11. Filipo Daugunu – Wests
  12. Hunter Paisami – Wests
  13. Jordan Petaia – Wests
  14. Suliasi Vunivalu – Wests
  15. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland


  1. Alex Mafi – Bond University
  2. Richie Asiata – Easts
  3. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University
  4. Harry Wilson – Brothers
  5. Sam Wallis** – University of Queensland
  6. Kalani Thomas** – University of Queensland
  7. Hamish Stewart – Brothers
  8. Bryce Hegarty – GPS

*denotes Super Rugby/Queensland starting debut
**denotes potential Super Rugby/Queensland debut

Related Posts

« »