Steenkamp crowned ‘king’ at SARU Awards

Nov 2 • International, World Rugby • 1352 Views • Comments Off on Steenkamp crowned ‘king’ at SARU Awards

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

GurthroGurthrö Steenkamp was on Monday named as the SARU Player of the Year for the 2010 season. The Vodacom Blue Bulls prop captured the crown at the end of a fabulous domestic season during which he helped his side claim their third Vodacom Super 14 title.

Steenkamp’s sublime performances for the Springboks this year as well as his efforts for the Vodacom Bulls saw him claim the award ahead of some outstanding competition. Also nominated were Gio Aplon, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard and Schalk Burger.

Xerox Lions flyhalf Elton Jantjies was named as Young Player of the Year; the Vodacom Bulls were Team of the Year and Allister Coetzee was chosen as Absa Coach of the Year among the other main awards, which are voted for by rugby journalists. Vodacom Western Province wing Gio Aplon was selected by his peers as Players’ Player of the Year.

Jantjies claimed a second award on Monday evening as the SA Under-20 Player of the Year, following his outstanding performances for the Baby Boks at this year’s IRB Junior World Championships in Argentina where they ended the tournament in third position.

Full list of awards winners is:

SARU Player of the Year – Gurthrö Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Players’ Player of the Year – Gio Aplon (Vodacom Western Province)

SARU Young Player of the Year – Elton Jantjies (Xerox Lions)

SARU Team of the Year – Vodacom Bulls

Absa Coach of the Year – Allister Coetzee

Vodacom Super 14 Player of the Year – Andries Bekker (Vodacom Stormers)

Absa Curie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year – Bjorn Basson (GWK Griquas)

Absa Curie Cup First Division Player of the Year – Norman Nelson (Eastern Province Kings)

SuperSport Try of the Year – Jaque Fourie (Vodacom Stormers v Crusaders)

Sasol Sevens Player of the Year – Kyle Brown

SA Under-20 Player of the Year – Elton Jantjies (Xerox Lions)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year – Francois Brummer (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

SAA Club Champs Player of the Year – Lourens Adriaanse (Maties)

SARU Women’s Rugby Achiever of the Year – Dolly Mavungwana

Marriott Refereeing Achievement of the Year – Craig Joubert

Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament – Johan Goosen (Free State)

Related Posts

« »