Stormers start Super14 with win over Lions in JHB

Feb 13 • International • 1523 Views • Comments Off on Stormers start Super14 with win over Lions in JHB

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


The Stormers had a successful start to the Super 14 by beating the Lions26-13 in Johannesburg. The Stormers started slowly and then went into a comfortable half time lead of 26-6.

The match promised much more and spectators were expecting an open expansive game. After the comfortable half time lead the Stormers however reverted to a more conservative game to old on for the win.

The Lions held on to more possession in the 2nd half and managed to score a converted try. The Stormers seldom threatened the Lions goal line in the 2nd half, but could have increased their lead was it not for missed penalty kicks.

The Stormers coaching staff will however be pleased with a good defensive effort near their goal line in the 2nd half. For the Lions this was a bit of a test in depth with many substitutions made at half time. The Lions will be happy with the commitment shown on attack and defense in the 2nd half.

The scorers:

For Lions:

Tries: Killian

Cons: Rose

Pens: Rose 2

For Stormers:

Tries: Pietersen, Fourie

Cons: Pietersen

Pens: Pietersen 4

Lions: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Wandile Mjekevu, 10 Carlos Spencer, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Jonathan Mokuena, 7 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (c), 5 Willem Stoltz, 4 Jacques Lombard, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.

Replacements: 16 Charles Emslie, 17 JC van Rensburg, 18 Todd Clever, 19 Jacques Coetzee, 20 Derrick Minnie, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Michael Killian.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JC Kritzinger, 18 Anton van Zyl, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Lionel Cronjé, 22 Sireli Naqelevuki.

Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)

Related Posts

« »