SuperSport Rugby Challenge: Vodacom Blue Bulls to face Welwitschias

Apr 26 • General News, International • 2099 Views • Comments Off on SuperSport Rugby Challenge: Vodacom Blue Bulls to face Welwitschias

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach, Pote Human, included utility backline player, Ulrich Beyers, in his squad that will travel to Windhoek this week to face the Windhoek Draught Welwitschias in the SuperSport Rugby Challenge.

Beyers will make the first appearance this year after recovering from injury and will man the midfield with Franco Naude, another player who had picked up Vodacom Super Rugby experience with the Vodacom Bulls.

The human did not make wholesale changes to the starting side that conceded three late tries to the Steval Pumas in the opening round of the tournament but will be hoping that his new midfield combination will create a more direct threat on attack.

Divan Rossouw, who played at centre against the Pumas, reverts back to his more familiar role of fullback, while JoshuaStander moves to the bench.

In the pack, Human also promoted Corniel Els into the starting hooker position and Clyde Davids to start at no.8. They replace Edgar Marutlulle and Renaldo Bothma, who returns to Vodacom Bulls duty.

The bench has a number of changes to it. Alandre van Rooyen (hooker), Matthys Basson (prop) and Chris Massyn (flank) did not feature last weekend, while Stander and Duncan Matthews were in the starting team.

“We ran out of steam against the Steval Pumas, but we will be better this time around,” Human said.

“It is never a good thing to lose your opening home game, but we will bounce back from this. The Namibians will be a tough nut to crack at home, but if we play to our potential and minimise our mistakes, we will be competitive.”

The team is Divan Rossouw, Jade Stighling, Ulrich Beyers, Franco Naude, Rabs Maxwane, Tony Jantjies, Ivan van Zyl, Clyde Davids, Abongile Nonkontwana, Marco van Staden, Aston Fortuin, Freddy Ngoza, AndrewBeerwinkel, Corniel Els, Njabulo Gumede. Replacements: Alandre van Rooyen, Matthys Basson, Brian Leitch, Chris Massyn, Theo Maree, Joshua Stander, Duncan Matthews


Related Posts

« »