Swiel leads DHL WP in Durban

Feb 1 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 917 Views • Comments Off on Swiel leads DHL WP in Durban

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Flyhalf Tim Swiel will captain DHL Western Province in their Carling Currie Cup encounter with the Cell C Sharks in Durban on Wednesday.

Following a week’s break, DHL Western Province play their first away match of the campaign at 20h00 on Wednesday.

Swiel partners with experienced scrumhalf Godlen Masimla, with Mnombo Zwelendaba starting at outside centre, while there is an all-new back three with Sergeal Petersen at fullback and Leolin Zas and Andre Manuel on the wings.

Up front the experienced Ali Vermaak comes into the starting front row, while David Meihuizen makes his return from injury in the second row.

This means that Simon Miller is back at flank, with Roelof Smit making his first start on the other side of the scrum.

Flyhalf Kade Wolhuter will also make his return from injury via a replacements bench which also features Springbok utility forward Hilton Lobberts.

DHL Western Province Head Coach Jerome Paarwater said that after the short break, his team is keen to show they can perform away from home.

“We put in some hard work last week and it will be good to see those plans come through on Wednesday.

“We have some experienced players coming into the starting line-up, so it will be good to see the impact they can make for us,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Andre Manuel, 13 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Tim Swiel (captain), 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Kake Morabe, 7 Simon Miller, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Connor Evans, 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Ali Vermaak.

16 Jacques Goosen, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Corne Weilbach, 19 Hilton Lobberts, 20 Hannes Gous, 21 Thomas Bursey, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Ethan James.

Related Posts

« »