Team Release – Cell C Sharks XV vs. Griffons

Jun 2 • General News • 1053 Views • Comments Off on Team Release – Cell C Sharks XV vs. Griffons

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Cell C Sharks XV vs. Griffons

Date : Saturday, 3 June 2017
Time : 15h00
Venue Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium, Clermont
Referee Pro Legoete
Assistant Referees Vusi Msibi, Wayne Muller
Television Match Official Willie Vos


The Cell C Sharks XV return from a bye to host the Down Touch Griffons at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium in Clermont this Saturday at 15h00 in their Supersport Rugby Challenge second round clash.

The Griffons were involved in a high-scoring match against the Cheetahs last week, the game heralding over 100 points in their 48 – 53 loss and they have been competitive throughout the competition, aside from one or two big losses.

One of them came earlier this month when the Griffons hosted the Cell C Sharks XV in the first round match, with our visiting team scoring an emphatic 52-24 victory away from home.  Certainly, the plan will be to emulate that top performance again on Saturday.

Although the Cell C Sharks XV sit in fourth place on the Central Log, they have a game in hand over the remaining teams, meaning a five-pointer would propel them into second place on the log, behind Griquas who are on top.

The Pumas currently top the North Log (with the Blue Bulls breathing heavily down their necks) while Western Province has taken control of the South Log, having built up a relatively unassailable lead over Border who trail by nine points.

Head coach Paul Anthony has made six changes to the side that played Free State two weeks ago, two in the front row, with the rest of the pack remaining intact, and a further four changes to the backline.

Juan Schoeman and John-Hubert Meyer replace Ngonidzashe Chidoma and Gerhard Engelbrecht respectively, while Benhard Janse van Rensburg comes back into the side for Courtney Winnaar at flyhalf.

Ilunga Mukendi takes over from Morne Joubert on the wing, S’bura Sithole is in for Tristan Blewett at outside centre while Courtney Winnaar wears the number 15 jersey.

Cell C Sharks XV
1.         Juan Schoeman
2.         Stephan Coetzee
3.         John-Hubert Meyer
4.         Jean Droste
5.         Hyron Andrews
6.         Khaya Majola
7.         Wian Vosloo
8.         Keegan Daniel (v/c)
9.         Rowan Gouws
10.       Benhard Janse van Rensburg
11.       Ilunga Mukendi
12.       Marius Louw
13.       S’bura Sithole
14.       Odwa Ndungane (c)
15.       Courtney Winnaar

16.       Andrew du Plessis
17.       Thierry Kounga
18.       Rikus Zwart
19.       Bandisa Ndlovu
20.       Hanco Venter
21.       Danrich Visagie
22.       Tristan Blewett

Related Posts

« »