Team Release – Cell C Sharks XV vs. Leopards

May 11 • General News, International • 1162 Views • Comments Off on Team Release – Cell C Sharks XV vs. Leopards

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Cell C Sharks XV vs Leopards

Date : Saturday, 13 May 2017
Time : 15h00
Venue Douglas Mitchell Sports Ground, Margate
Referee Lourens van der Merwe

Following last week’s emphatic victory over the Griffons in their second Supersport Rugby Challenge match, the Cell C Sharks XV will be looking to continue their form against the Leopards at Douglas Mitchell Sports Ground in Uvongo.

Last Saturday’s 52 – 24 over the Griffons in Welkom was a statement of intent that they are in this competition to do our fans proud. The win also gave them the impetus to climb to mid-table on the Central Log.

However, they have a huge challenge this weekend against a Leopards side playing some outstanding rugby.

The away side have not yet lost in the competition and have accumulated maximum points from their three outings so far, leading the log with 15 points.  The week two bye means the Cell C Sharks XV have a game in hand and an opportunity to rein in the log leaders.

Coach Paul Anthony hasn’t tinkered too much with the team that won last week, a thumbs up for the players who performed so well.

The forward pack remains unchanged, a real pleasure for a coach to retain a winning side and reward the players for their hard work, both on the training pitch and in match action.

Amongst the backs, there is a rotational switch at scrumhalf with Rowan Gouws and Damian Stevens swapping around while Odwa Ndungane, who is nursing a slight niggle,  has been replaced by S’bura Sithole who moves from outside centre to wing.

Johan Deysel returns from the senior side where he made his Vodacom Super Rugby debut against the Jaguares.  He will wear the number 13 jumper on Saturday.

In the final change, Garth April has been selected to play in the senior side against the Kings, opening the door for Clement Poitrenaud to return at fullback, after missing action due to injury and playing off the bench in his return last week.

The team will be led by the experienced Keegan Daniel.  The match is scheduled for a 3 pm kick-off on Saturday, 13th May.

Cell C Sharks XV
1.            Juan Schoeman
2.            Stephan Coetzee
3.            John-Hubert Meyer
4.            Jean Droste
5.            Hyron Andrews
6.            Khaya Majola
7.            Jacques Vermeulen
8.            Keegan Daniel (c)
9.            Rowan Gouws
10.          Benhard Janse van Rensburg
11.          Morne Joubert
12.          Marius Louw
13.          Johan Deysel
14.          S’bura Sithole
15.          Clement Poitrenaud

16.          Kerron van Vuuren
17.          Gerhard Engelbrecht
18.          Rikus Zwart
19.          Wian Vosloo
20.          Damian Stevens
21.          Tristan Blewett
22.          Courtney Winnaar

Related Posts

« »