Teams announced for England v Australian Barbarians clash

Jun 15 • International, World Rugby • 1699 Views • Comments Off on Teams announced for England v Australian Barbarians clash

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)


England’s fringe players will get a last chance to forced their way into the Test reckoning when they face the Australian Barbarians.

Having seen England look toothless in the backs during the 27-17 first Test defeat to the Wallabies, the likes of Olly Barkley and Charlie Hodgson will be out to strengthen their claims.

David Strettle and Dominic Waldouck have come in to the back division from the side that drew 28-28 in the opening tour match.

In the forwards, Dan Ward-Smith is moved to the second row, with James Haskell, skipper Joe Worsley and Steffon Armitage combining in a new-look back row.

There are also chances for props Jon Golding and Paul Doran-Jones to shine.

On the bench, Phil Dowson and Rob Webber have been included for the first time.

The Australian Barbarians have made five changes to the side that held England in Perth.

Peter Hynes and Kurtley Beale come in to the backs for James O’Connor, who scored 25 points in the opening game, and Berrick Barnes.

In the pack Tatafu Polota-Nau returns after an ankle injury, Rob Simmons bolsters the second row and Pat McCutcheon starts on the flank.

Australian Barbarians:

15 P Hynes (Queensland Reds), 14 N Cummins (Western Force), 13 W Chambers (Queensland Reds), 12 A Faingaa (Queensland Reds), 11 L Turner (Waratahs), 10 K Beale (Waratahs), 9 J Valentine (Brumbies), 1 P Cowan (Western Force), 2 T Polota-Nau (Waratahs), 3 L Weeks (Queensland Reds), 4 M Chapman (Brumbies), 5 R Simmons (Queensland Reds), 6 B McCalman (Western Force), 7 P McCutcheon (Waratahs), 8 S Hoiles (Brumbies, capt).
Replacements: 16 H Edmonds (Brumbies), 17 J Slipper (Queensland Reds), 18 M Chisholm (Brumbies), 19 M Hodgson (Western Force), 20 L Burgess (Waratahs), 21 B Barnes (Waratahs), 22 J O’Connor (Western Force).


15 D Armitage (London Irish), 14 D Strettle (Harlequins), 13 D Waldouck (Wasps), 12 O Barkley (Bath), 11 M Banahan (Bath), 10 C Hodgson (Sale Sharks), 9 R Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks), 1 J Golding (Newcastle), 2 L Mears (Bath), 3 P Doran-Jones (Gloucester), 4 D Attwood (Gloucester), 5 D Ward-Smith (Wasps), 6 J Worsley (Wasps, capt), 7 S Armitage (London Irish), 8 J Haskell (Stade Francais).
Replacements: 16 R Webber (Wasps), 17 D Flatman (Bath), 18 C Robshaw (Harlequins), 19 P Dowson (Northampton), 20 P Hodgson (London Irish), 21 S Geraghty (Northampton), 22 M Tait (Sale Sharks).

[Info from]

Related Posts

« »