Top U18 players assemble for High Performance camp in Stellenbosch

Mar 9 • General News, School, South Africa U18 • 8113 Views • Comments Off on Top U18 players assemble for High Performance camp in Stellenbosch

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Fifty Under-18 players within SA Rugby’s Elite Player Development (EPD) system will gather in Stellenbosch for a four-day training camp from 18 to 21 March where the focus will be on grooming them to advance to the SA Schools and Junior Springbok teams in future.

The camp will feature Under-17 and Under-18 players, many of whom attended the Under-16 and Under-17 camps in October last year, and have been in SA Rugby’s High Performance structures since Under-16 level.

Apart from offering members of the Rugby Department an opportunity to work with the players, it also serves as a vital platform to ensure continuity from school level to the junior national structures.

SA Rugby’s EPD 2 Manager, Herman Masimla, will manage the camp while SA Rugby’s High Performance Manager Louis Koen will steer the coaching. The SA Schools selectors will also attend the camp.

“The camp is the culmination of years of hard work with the players behind the scenes by SA Rugby’s EPD managers,” said SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux.

“Their respective talent identification units, which include managers, coaches and scouts from all 14 provincial unions, have identified, assessed, trained and monitored these players for the past three years.

“The camp plays a vital role within our rugby pathway to prepare these players to make the step up to the SA Schools and Junior Springbok teams in future, and hopefully they will follow in the footsteps of the likes of Damian Willemse, Salmaan Moerat and Handre Pollard in the coming years.”

The players will participate in a series of training sessions over the four days, with the main focus areas being skills, attack, defence and kicking, while there will also be split sessions with the forwards and backs.


SA Rugby U18 Elite Player Development camp squad (in alphabetical order):

Player School Position
Jubaren Adriaan Goudveld Secondary School Flanker
Jacobus Agenbag Grey College Prop
Adriaan Alberts Paarl Boys Lock
Philip Apea-Adu Louis Trichardt Flanker
Diego Appollis Garsfontein Centre
Ross Braude Grey College Scrumhalf
Roubert Bester Paarl Boys Prop
Morne Brandon Monument Hooker
Jurich Claasens Garsfontein Scrumhalf
Dylan de Leeuw Stellenberg Lock
Sphekahle Dube Maritzburg College Prop
Dewald Donald Affies Prop
Izak Esterhuizen Monument No 8
Keane Galant HTS Drostdy Fullback
Christie Grobbelaar HTS Drostdy Centre
Celimpilo Gumede DHS Flanker
Noegh Hayward Paarl Boys Centre
Keno Hendriks Oakdale Hooker
Jaden Hendrikse Glenwood Scrumhalf
Lohan Horn Paarl Boys Flanker
Hanru Jacobs Paarl Roos Prop
Stravino Jacobs Paarl Gymnasium Winger
Roann Jansen HTS Drostdy Winger
Rynhardt Jonker Glenwood Centre
Dawid Kellerman Paarl Gymnasium Centre
Jean-Jacques Kotze Paul Roos Hooker
Richard Kriel Grey College Winger
Stephan le Roux Monument Lock
Mntungwa Mapantsela Selborne College Centre
Jacques Marthinus Daniëlskuil Hoërskool Fullback
Bame Malesu St. Andrew’s College Prop
Marcelle Mombers Menlopark Flanker
Keketso Morabe Welkom Gymnasium No 8
Banele Mthenjane Nelspruit Prop
Lethabo Mtsheni Magalies Lock
Lunga Ncube Glenwood Lock
Vernon Paulo Oakdale Flanker
Seita Phatudi Klerksdorp Flyhalf
Christiaan Pretorius Paul Roos Winger
Dylan Pretorius Glenwood Flyhalf
Regard Roets Affies Flyhalf
Evan Roos Paarl Boys High No 8
Franco Schutte Monument Flanker
Johannes Slabbert Westville Boys High Lock
Reagan van der Westhuizen Paul Roos Prop
Emile Van Heerden Paarl Boys Lock
Wyclef Vlitoor Grey College Centre
Allister Williams Paarl Boys Hooker
De Wet Wolhuter Paarl Boys Prop
Kade Wolhuter Paul Roos Flyhalf

Related Posts

« »