Torsten to lead Toyota Cheetahs

Feb 23 • General News • 1642 Views • Comments Off on Torsten to lead Toyota Cheetahs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Torsten van Jaarsveld will be leading the Toyota Cheetahs in their first Vodacom Super Rugby encounter of the season on Saturday, 25 February 2017 against the Emirates Lions in Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein.  Coach Franco Smith has announced his team for the match that kicks off at 15:05.  Gates open at 12:00.

“I’m satisfied with where we are after the pre-season.  Everyone trained really hard and we are as prepared as possible.  The majority of the players has played Super Rugby and know what the intensity will be like,” said coach Franco Smith.

Two players in the starting line-up, Justin Basson (lock) and Clinton Swart (centre) will be making their Vodacom Super Rugby debuts on Saturday.

“The team has more experience than at the start of 2016.  We have a lot of strong leaders in the team and I’m looking forward to seeing how the team has grown.” Captain, Torsten van Jaarsveld.

The referee for the game is Quinton Immelman.


The Toyota Cheetahs invites supporters to enjoy a fun-filled day at Toyota Stadium with new braai facilities and the enlarged family-friendly alcohol-free area. Jakkie Louw will be providing entertainment on the Castle Deck after the match.

Ticket prices: Main Stand – R80.  Open Stand – R60 for adults and R20 for kids.

Tickets can be purchased online at or at the Ticket office at Gate 8 (Att Horak Avenue) at Toyota Stadium.

Toyota Cheetahs vs Emirates Lions

25 February 2017, 15:05

Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

  1. Charles Marais
  2. Torsten van Jaarsveld (C)
  3. Johan Coetzee
  4. Justin Basson
  5. Reniel Hugo
  6. Uzair Cassiem
  7. Oupa Mohoje
  8. Paul Schoeman
  9. Tian Meyer (VC)
  10. Fred Zeilinga
  11. Raymond Rhule
  12. Clinton Swart
  13. Nico Lee
  14. Sergeal Petersen
  15. Clayton Blommetjies
  1. Elandré Huggett
  2. Danie Mienie
  3. Ox Nche
  4. Francois Uys
  5. Niell Jordaan
  6. Zee Mkhabela
  7. Niel Marais
  8. Ryno Benjamin



Related Posts

« »