Toyota Cheetahs team to face Zebre Rugby Club

Jan 25 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 1033 Views • Comments Off on Toyota Cheetahs team to face Zebre Rugby Club

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Toyota Cheetahs will be taking on Zebre Rugby in Round 14 of the Guinness PRO14 Championship on Saturday, 26 January 2019. 

The action kicks off at 15:00 (SA time) with a live broadcast on SuperSport 1 (Premier Sports 2, eir Sport 1 and DAZN). Gates open at 13:00.

The Toyota Cheetahs have won four of their five clashes against Italian sides since joining the Championship and have only lost once in their last four Championship games. The home team are wary of Zebre, who would be determined to bounce back from a six-match losing run. The two sides have met three times already, and the Toyota Cheetahs have emerged victorious every time. 

The Toyota Cheetahs’ superior attacking form has seen them score 18 more tries than the Italians despite playing one less match this season, which they will look to build on at Toyota Stadium. However, they will enter the match knowing that the visitors have conceded four fewer tries.

Captain, Tian Meyer said: “It is going to be an exciting match. If we allow them to play their brand of rugby, we can expect it to be difficult.” 

Supporters can look forward to be entertained by the popular Afrikaans artist, Jo Black, at the Castle Deck after the game.

Tickets are only R60 for the main stand, R40 for the open stand and R20 for students and kids. Kids under the age of 7 can collect a free ticket from the gate. Tickets are available from the ticket office in Toyota Stadium or online at

Coach Franco Smith has announced his team for the clash with some changes: 

· Sintu Manjezi and Walt Steenkamp moves to the starting line up with Justin Basson and JP du Preez providing cover on the bench. 

· Gerhard Oliver moves to eight man and Junior Pokomela to no. 6 flank.

· Abongile Nonkontwana will be starting with Niell Jordaan providing cover on the bench. 

Rabz Maxwane has scored nine tries in 11 appearances this season, which has placed him at the top of the try-scorer’s list by two tries.

Toyota Cheetahs

1 Ox Nche (34)
2 Joseph Dweba (13)
3 Aranos Coetzee (34)
4 Sintu Manjezi (5)
5 Walt Steenkamp (11)
6 Junior Pokomela (23)
7 Abongile Nonkontwana (7)
8 Gerhard Olivier (12)
9 Tian Meyer (18) – Captain
10 Tian Schoeman (12)
11 Rabz Maxwane (10)
12 Nico Lee (25)
13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg (12)
14 William Small-Smith (27)
15 Malcolm Jaer (12)

16 Reinach Venter (4)
17 Charles Marais (32)
18 Luan de Bruin (4)
19 Justin Basson (23)
20 JP du Preez (11)
21 Niell Jordaan (7)
22 Shaun Venter (27)
23 Louis Fouche (8)

· Guinness PRO14 caps indicated next the player’s name. 

The referee for the match is Ben Whitehouse (SRU). He will be assisted by Paul Mente and Ben Crouse (both SARU). The TMO is Johan Greeff (SARU). 

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury:

Oupa Mohoje (knee), Jacques Du Toit (knee), Jamba Ulenga (neck).

Related Posts

« »