Toyota Cheetahs Team to play in Nelspruit

Aug 20 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 731 Views • Comments Off on Toyota Cheetahs Team to play in Nelspruit

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Toyota Cheetahs will be travelling to Nelspruit, two days after taking on the Griquas, to battle it out against the Pumas. Saturday’s match kicks off at 11:45 and will be live on SuperSport.

“We see this as a very important game and we’ve selected our best possible team.” Said, Coach Hawies Fourie.

Coach Hawies announced his team for the encounter with a couple of changes.

“Duncan Saal is replacing Craig Barry. He recovered faster than we thought and it is good to have him back. He is a really good finisher and he is defending well in our system. Hopefully, that will make a difference.”

“Ruan played very well against the Griquas on flyhalf and we decided to stick with that and with Brandon Thomson on the bench coming in for the injured Reinhardt Fortuin.”

“We had a look at the game against the Griquas again and saw that we had quite a good flow on the attack with Ruan on 10. He could shift the contact points and make Griquas work, which is what we want to do and how we want to play.”

“We decided to rotate the loose forwards and had to decide between Andisa, Junior and Aidon. We felt that Andisa is more suitable to come onto the field from the bench. He is a skilful player with a lot of speed and he can make a difference in the last 20 minutes. His ability to make turnover balls on breakdown also played a role in the decision.”

“With Mosi coming in we’ve got a very good ball carrier added to our pack. He is explosive with the ball in hand and a very good carrier. Hencus will cover loosehead and Beertjie will cover tighthead.”

Toyota Cheetahs

  1. Clayton Blommetjies
  2. Duncan Saal
  3. David Brits
  4. Siya Masuku
  5. Malcolm Jaer
  6. Ruan Pienaar (C)
  7. Tian Meyer
  8. Mihlali Mosi
  9. Aidon Davis
  10. Junior Pokomela
  11. Victor Sekekete
  12. Rynier Bernardo
  13. Aranos Coetzee
  14. Marnus van der Merwe
  15. Cameron Dawson


  1. Louis van der Westhuizen
  2. Hencus van Wyk
  3. Conraad van Vuuren
  4. Reinier Viljoen
  5. Andisa Ntsila
  6. Chris Smit
  7. Brandon Thomson
  8. Evardi Boshoff

The referee for the match is Aimee Barrett-Theron and Quinton Immelman is the TMO.

Players not available: The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury: Marcell Muller (hamstring), George Cronje (knee), Oupa Mohoje (calf), Jeandre Rudolph (knee), Cohen Jasper (hamstring), Reinhardt Fortuin (hamstring), Jean Droste (concussion).

Related Posts

« »