Toyota Cheetahs vs Tafel Lager Griquas

Aug 17 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa, South Africa • 797 Views • Comments Off on Toyota Cheetahs vs Tafel Lager Griquas

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Toyota Cheetahs will battle it out against the Tafel Lager Griquas on Wednesday at 16:45 in Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein. The action will be live on SuperSport.

“We need to get rid of the soft moments and we have to focus for the full 80 minutes,” said coach Hawies Fourie.

“We’ve shown glimpses of what we can do and had too many soft moments to let teams in. The short turnaround is tough on the bodies but I think it is the same for everyone,” said captain Ruan Pienaar.

“I don’t think the log table justifies the way we’ve played this season. We’ve had a really tough start to the season with Covid and injuries and a few narrow losses. It could easily have gone differently and we might have been second or third on the log.”

“We have a young group and a lot of new players. Things don’t just happen overnight and we know that there is a process that we need to follow. We need to back the coaches and the management and what they expect of us and just do that better. It might take some time, but we’ll get there.”

“Griquas is a tough team and they’ve played some really good rugby. They’ve beaten some of the top teams in this season both home and away and we know that it’s a massive challenge.”

“It is always a big battle against Griquas. They have a really good game plan and I think they’ve evolved a lot as a team since we last played them. They’ll come here with confidence.”

“We’ve got to be up for it. It’s another derby against Griquas which is always exciting to watch. We’ve prepared well and hopefully put up a positive performance.”

Coach Hawies Fourie announced his team for the encounter.

Toyota Cheetahs

  1. Clayton Blommetjies
  2. Craig Barry
  3. David Brits
  4. Siya Masuku
  5. Malcolm Jaer
  6. Reinhardt Fortuin
  7. Ruan Pienaar (C)
  8. Aidon Davis
  9. Junior Pokomela
  10. Andisa Ntsila
  11. Jean Droste
  12. Victor Sekekete
  13. Aranos Coetzee
  14. Marnus van der Merwe
  15. Cameron Dawson


  1. Louis van der Westhuizen
  2. Alulutho Tshakweni
  3. Conraad van Vuuren
  4. Rynier Bernardo
  5. Reinier Viljoen
  6. Mihlali Mosi
  7. Tian Meyer
  8. Chris Smit

The referee for the match is Jaco Peyper and the TMO is Ben Crouse.

Players not available: The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury: Marcell Muller (hamstring), George Cronje (knee), Oupa Mohoje (calf), Jeandre Rudolph (knee), Duncan Saal (shoulder) and Cohen Jasper (hamstring).

Related Posts

« »