U19 team announced to face Free State on Saturday

Jul 23 • General News • 1695 Views • Comments Off on U19 team announced to face Free State on Saturday

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There are six changes including a position swop in the starting line up of the Eastern Province U19 team that will face the Free State U19s in Durban on Saturday at 12 noon.

Head Coach, Mzwandile Stick, said the changes made had been tactical, rather than motivated by injury.

“At the moment the only player who is out with injury is Chris Whitting,” he said.

Stick said he had made the decision to rest some players who were not on form, while giving others the opportunity to start.

Up front Dave Murray and JP Jaimeson are joined by James Beyl, who comes up off the bench for Whitting. Wynand Grassmann and Sintu Manjezi retain their positions to make up the tight five. They are joined by the loose trio of CJ Velleman – who once again captains the side – Tyler paul and Elandre van der Merwe, who comes up from the bench to replace Mihlali Nchukana at eighth man.

Kewan Gibb comes in at scrumhalf for Jason Vers, who moves to the bench, with Jason Baggot moving from scrumhalf to flyhalf.

“Baggot is a great defender and has a solid pass, so we thought we would give him a chance at flyhalf and see how it goes,” said Stick.

On the wings are Lindelwe Zungu and Yamkela Nyalambisa, with Luan Nieuwoudt and Dylan Peterson at inside and outside centre respectively. Malcolm Jaer once again comes on as fullback.

Stick said Dylan, who has joined the U19 from the Sharks Academy, had been training with the squad and was looking forward to his first game.

“We have been playing well, if you look at the second half of the Blue Bulls and even the game last week against the Golden Lions, we have played well, but we have not converted that into points,” said Stick.

He said he was especially impressed with the Forwards, under the guidance of coach Wayne van Heerden.

“I have made it clear to the boys that we simply cannot let these opportunities go past without making use of them,” he said.

The team:

1. David Murray
2. Jean-Pierre (JP) Jamieson
3. James Beyl
4. Wynand Grassmann
5. Sintu Manjezi
6. Cyril-John (CJ) Velleman (Capt)
7. Tyler Paul
8. Elandre van der Merwe
9. Kewan Gibb
10. Jason Baggott
11. Lindelwe Zungu
12. Luan Nieuwoudt (VC)
13. Dylan Peterson
14. Yamkela Nyalambisa
15. Malcolm Jaer
16. Arno Lotter
17. Mathew Jackson
18. Thembelihle Yase
19. Gerrit Huisamen
20. Jayson Reinecke
21. Jason Vers
22. Thabani Mgugudo
23. Julio Abels

Related Posts

« »