Vermeulen captain, Habana at 13

Apr 17 • General News, International, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 2065 Views • Comments Off on Vermeulen captain, Habana at 13

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

New DHL Stormers captain Duane Vermeulen with the in form Bryan Habana . Photo by Gallo.

Coach Allister Coetzee today named his team to take on the Reds on Friday night at the Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, in the teams’ third tour match.

There are two positional changes in the backline with Bryan Habana wearing the 13 jersey, partnering Juan De Jongh who moves to inside centre. In addition, Gio Aplon returns from injury on the left-wing.

There is only one change to the pack with De Kock Steenkamp partnering Eben Etzebeth at lock, in for the injured Andries Bekker.

In the only change to the bench, Koster returns from injury in jersey 18.

Jean De Villiers is on his way back to Cape Town after sustaining an injury to his left wrist against the Crusaders.  De Villiers will not  be available for the next two weeks and will undergo further   assessment in Cape Town as to the prognosis and rehabilitation period.

Andries Bekker remains with the Stormers squad, whilst DHL WP winger, Danie Poolman, has been called up to join the squad in Australia.

“Injuries are part of Super Rugby and it’s the teams that are best  able to cope with them, that will do well in this competition.” said  coach Allister Coetzee.  “Losing Jean is a setback but we have a lot of leadership options and I am confident in the depth we have  available and as to the temperament and ability of this squad.”

Your DHL Stormers team to play is:


15. Joe Pietersen , 14. Gerhard van den Heever, 13. Bryan Habana, 12. Juan de Jongh  , 11. Gio Aplon , 10. Peter Grant (Vice Captain), 9. Dewaldt Duvenage, 8. Duane Vermeulen (Captain), 7. Rynhardt Elstadt, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. De Kock Steenkamp, 4. Eben Etzebeth  , 3. Brok Harris , 2. Tiaan Liebenberg, 1. Steven Kitshoff.


16. Deon Fourie, 17. Frans Malherbe, 18. Nick Koster, 19. Nizaam Carr, 20. Louis Schreuder, 21. Burton Francis, 22. JP du Plessis.

Referee: Steve Walsh


Kick-Off: 11h40 CAT Friday 20 April.

Related Posts

« »