Vodacom Cheetahs score bonus point victory over Blues

May 1 • International • 1893 Views • Comments Off on Vodacom Cheetahs score bonus point victory over Blues

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Sarel  Pretorius

The Cheetahs dashed the Blues’ Super 14 semi-final hopes with a 36-32 victory at the Free State Stadium on Saturday.

The New Zealanders, in 10th spot, needed to win their final three matches to stand any chance of reaching the final four.

Captain Juan Smith opened the scoring for the home side when the flanker side-stepped through the Blues’ defence from close range to dive over near the posts. Flyhalf Naas Olivier added the extra points.

The Blues responded immediately when slick interplay between centres Benson Stanley and Isaia Toeava allowed the latter to sprint in from 20 metres. Flyhalf Stephen Brett, playing his 50th match, levelled the score with the conversion.

Olivier regained the advantage with his second penalty after 15 minutes before winger Jongi Nokwe capitalised on a turnover deep inside Blues territory to score his team’s second try and open up an eight-point lead.

Brett narrowed the deficit with a penalty after 25 minutes but Nokwe’s wing partner Bjorn Basson crossed unopposed from the restart for the Cheetahs’ third try, again converted by Olivier.

Blues’ winger Rene Ranger reduced the margin to two points with a try after the teams had turned around with the Cheetahs leading 22-13.

Scrumhalf Alby Mathewson gave the visitors the lead for the first and only time with 24 minutes remaining when he dived over underneath the posts from a five-metre scrum.

Their advantage lasted less than a minute when blood replacement Phillip van der Walt crashing over for the Cheetahs’ bonus-point try on the hour for centre Meyer Bosman to convert.

Another Cheetahs replacement, Waltie Vermeulen, gave the home side their fifth try with five minutes remaining, a score cancelled out by Anthony Tuitavake’s bonus point try for the Blues.

15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Bjorn Basson, 13. Robert Ebersohn, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Jongi Nokwe, 10. Naas Olivier, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Frans Viljoen, 7. Juan Smith (captain), 6. Hendro Scholtz, 5. Barend Pieterse, 4. Izak van der Westhuizen, 3. WP Nel, 2. Ryno Barnes, 1. Wian du Preez

Substitutes: 16. Skipper Badenhorst, 17. Coenie Oosthuizen, 18. Waltie Vermeulen, 19. Phillip van der Walt, 20. Tertius Carse, 21. Riaan Viljoen, 22. Danwel Demas

15. Paul Williams, 14. Rene Ranger, 13. Isaia Toeava, 12. Benson Stanley, 11. Joe Rokocoko, 10. Stephen Brett, 9. Alby Mathewson, 8. Viliami Ma’afu, 7. Tom Chamberlain, 6. Jerome Kaino (captain), 5. Filo Paulo, 4. Kurtis Haiu, 3. John Afoa, 2. Tom McCartney, 1. Tony Woodcock

Substitutes: 16. Tevita Mailau, 17. Charlie Faumuina, 18. Anthony Boric, 19. Peter Saili, 20. Chris Smylie, 21. Dan Kirkpatrick, 22. Anthony Tuitavake


Related Posts

« »