Wainwright hits fifty for Dragons

Aug 28 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 933 Views • Comments Off on Wainwright hits fifty for Dragons

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Back row Aaron Wainwright will make 50th appearance for Dragons as they face Scarlets in the Guinness PRO14 at Rodney Parade on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 5.15pm).

Prop Chris Coleman will also make the first Guinness PRO14 start of his career as Director of Dragons Rugby, Dean Ryan, makes a total of 10 changes to his line-up.

Wales international Wainwright hits his milestone from the six jersey and is joined by Number Eight Harrison Keddie in the back row.

Lock Max Williams is handed his first appearance since the restart alongside Matthew Screech in the second row.

A new-look front row will see prop Coleman pack down alongside Josh Reynolds and Wales ace Elliot Dee.

Scrum half Rhodri Williams returns to captain the team and will play alongside Sam Davies at half back.

Centre Adam Warren starts, with Nick Tompkins moving to the inside centre role, while wing Jared Rosser and full back Will Talbot-Davies are also named.

Huw Taylor could also make his first appearance since the return after being named among the replacements.

“We expect a really big test on Saturday against Scarlets team that still have play-off aspirations,” said Ryan.

“They like to play quickly with ball in hand and you saw glimpses against Cardiff Blues of the dangerous outside backs they have.

“It’s important we expand our group, to make people feel more confident, and give people opportunities,” he added.

“It has such risk attached, but I’m not naming a team and then holding onto them until Christmas. We have got to get people better and the only way to do that is to put them in against the best competition.

“We can’t rely on the same group of people, we have got to get our youngsters better, and I very much see these two Guinness PRO14 games as a chance for us to do just that.”

Dragons (v Scarlets): Will Talbot-Davies, Jared Rosser, Adam Warren, Nick Tompkins, Ashton Hewitt, Sam Davies, Rhodri Williams (c); Josh Reynolds, Elliot Dee, Chris Coleman, Max Williams, Matthew Screech, Aaron Wainwright, Taine Basham, Harrison Keddie

Replacements: Ellis Shipp, Conor Maguire, Leon Brown, Joe Maksymiw, Huw Taylor, Luke Baldwin, Arwel Robson, Jack Dixon

Related Posts

« »