Wallabies team named for Rugby World Cup 2015 Final

Oct 29 • General News, International, Rugby World Cup, RWC 2015 • 5671 Views • Comments Off on Wallabies team named for Rugby World Cup 2015 Final

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has announced his team for the Rugby World Cup 2015 Final against New Zealand at Twickenham on Saturday (Sunday 3am AEDT).

Scott Sio will return to the starting XV having overcome his injury that ruled him out of the Semi-Final, resuming his role in the number one jersey while James Slipper reverts to the bench.

The front row switch is the only change in the Wallabies’ starting XV following the 29-15 victory over Argentina last Sunday, as the Australians prepare for a record-equalling fourth Rugby World Cup Final.

Australia will have one survivor from their last World Cup Final in 2003, with Matt Giteau lining up at inside centre. Giteau replaced current Wallabies Assistant Coach Stephen Larkham briefly in that Final 12 years ago.

Saturday’s Rugby World Cup Final will be the first played between Australia and New Zealand, with the winner to become the first nation to win the tournament three times.

The Wallabies took home the William Webb Ellis trophy defeating England in 1991 and France in 1999 and made a third Final against England in 2003.

Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said nothing would change for his team heading into the decider.

“This week we’ve had a strong focus on improving certain areas in our game where we feel we havent been at our best in the previous matches” he said.

“We still have lots of scope to improve and we’ll work on that before this next match against New Zealand.”

“Our lads are learning to cherish each opportunity they have in the gold jersey and this week we have that opportunity again and we’ll be doing our best to make Australia proud of it’s rugby team.”

Wallabies team to play New Zealand in Rugby World Cup 2015 Final at Twickenham, London
Saturday, October 31, 4pm local time (3am Sunday, November 1 AEDT)

LIVE on FOX SPORTS 502 from 2:00am AEDT and Ch 9 and GEM from 2:15am AEDT Monday

1. Scott Sio (15 Tests)
2. Stephen Moore (c) (101 Tests)
3. Sekope Kepu (62 Tests)
4. Kane Douglas (23 Tests)
5. Rob Simmons (59 Tests)
6. Scott Fardy (29 Tests)
7. Michael Hooper (vc) (50 Tests)
8. David Pocock (54 Tests)
9. Will Genia (65 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (26 Tests)
11. Drew Mitchell (69 Tests)
12. Matt Giteau (101 Tests)
13. Tevita Kuridrani (30 Tests)
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (vc) (113 Tests)
15. Israel Folau (37 Tests)


16. Tatafu Polota-Nau (60 Tests)
17. James Slipper (73 Tests)
18. Greg Holmes (23 Tests)
19. Dean Mumm (43 Tests)
20. Ben McCalman (46 Tests)
21. Nick Phipps (37 Tests)
22. Matt Toomua (30 Tests)
23. Kurtley Beale (59 Tests)

Related Posts

« »