Western Province, Pumas top of U21 division logs

Aug 30 • General News • 1778 Views • Comments Off on Western Province, Pumas top of U21 division logs

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The DHL Western Province Under-21 team stayed top of the Absa Currie Cup Under-21 A-Division Provincial log this weekend with a narrow win over Toyota Free State in Bloemfontein, with two other contenders having mixed fortunes.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls won 55-33 against the Leopards in Potchefstroom while the Cell C Sharks suffered a 25-15 defeat against the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth. This was the first win for the Kings this year and it dented the Durban side’s chances of a top two finish.

The Xerox Golden Lions is in third place with a game in hand after a bye this weekend.

In Bloemfontein on Friday, Flyhalf Brandon Thomson landed a penalty goal in the final act of the match to DHL Western Province a 38-35 win over Free State. The win keep WP at the top of the log. Three tries in the first 25 minutes gave the visitors a nice buffer at the end of the first half (22-7), but the home side came storming back in the second half. Their fifth try made it 35-35 with less two minutes left on the stadium clock, but Thomson had the last say.

In their match in Potchefstroom, the Vodacom Blue Bulls started and finished well, but the Leopards had most of the play in the middle section of the match. The Blue Bulls raced to a 33-7 lead at the break, but the Leopards stormed back with four unanswered tries to level matters. The Blue Bulls scored twice in the last five minutes though to make the trip home an enjoyable one.

The EP Kings scored two tries and defended with great vigour to keep the visiting Cell C Sharks tryless in a great win for the home side. They had a difficult first round, with no wins, but outplayed the Sharks, who could only kick five penalties and never managed to break the Kings defensive line. For the Kings, who conceded 38 tries in their previous seven matches, this defensive effort will be a huge confidence boost.

In the B-Division, Steval Pumas and Limpopo Blue Bulls are still unbeaten after three rounds of play, with Griquas and Border also showing good form with two wins out of three.



Toyota Free State 35 (7), DHL Western Province 38 (22).


Toyota Free State 35 (7). Tries: Barend Bornman, Daniel Maartens, Lorenzo Gordon, Mthokozisi Mkhabela, Penalty Try. Conversions: Jacobus Vosloo (5).

DHL Western Province 38 (22).Tries: David Ribbans, Grant Hermanus, Khanyo Ngcukana (2). Conversions: Brandon Thomson (3). Penalties: Brandon Thomson (4).

Vodacom Blue Bulls U21 55 (33), Leopards 33 (7).


Vodacom Blue Bulls 55 (33). Tries: Arno van Wyk, Divan Rossouw, Ganfried May (2), Keanan van Wyk, Marquit September (2), Mox Mxoli. Conversions: Kobus Marais (6). Penalty: Kobus Marais

Leopards 33 (7). Tries: Dalen Goliath, Estehan Visagie, Gerhardus le Roux, Gideon van der Merwe, Myburgh Briers. Conversions: Schalk Hugo (4).

EP Kings 25 (10), Cell C Sharks 15 (9)


EP Kings 25 (10). Tries: ACE Jho (2), Franswa Ueckermann. Conversions: Matthys Venter (2). Penalties: Franswa Ueckermann, Matthys Venter.

Cell C Sharks 15 (9). Penalties: Innocent Radebe (4), Rowan Gouws.


Steval Pumas 56 (17), Boland 40 (19)


Steval Pumas 56 (17). Tries: Bennie Mashabane, Frederick van Staden, Henry Badenhorst (2), Johan Gericke, Marthinus Snyman, Steven Jacobs. Conversions: Dylan Du Buisson (6). Penalty: Dylan Du Buisson (3).

Boland 40 (19). Tries: Chad Kleinsmidt, Dale Watts, Killian von Mollendorff, Warren Williams (2), Willem Swiegers. Conversions: Dale Watts (5).

Hino Valke 19 (7), ORC Griquas 31 (17)


Hino Valke 19 (7). Tries: Brandan Rieck, Cornelius Jacobs, Jackie Jonkers. Conversions: Arno Kotze (2).

ORC Griquas 31 (17). Tries: Blaine Seafield, Deon Taljaard, Jovan Cookson, Stewart Jacobs. Conversions: Christo Coetzee (4). Penalty: Christo Coetzee.

Down Touch Griffons 10 (10), SWD 25 (15)


Down Touch Griffons 10 (10). Try: Damien May. Conversion: Shaquille Adams. Penalty: Shaquille Adams.

SWD 25 (15). Tries: Albert Loubser, Ethan Williams, Wikus Oosthuizen. Conversions: Erwin Harris (2). Penalty. Erwin Harris (2).

Limpopo Blue Bulls 50 (26), Border 10 (0).


Limpopo Blue Bulls 50 (26). Tries: Brian Nyaude (2), Christopher Labuschagne (2), Gabriel Sipapate, Juan van der Westhuizen, Kallie Jantjies (2). Conversions: Jean Grobler (5).

Border 10 (0). Tries: Curwin Jacobus, Nathan Scott.

Related Posts

« »