Willemse to make DHL WP debut at DHL Newlands

Aug 3 • General News • 817 Views • Comments Off on Willemse to make DHL WP debut at DHL Newlands

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Flyhalf Damian Willemse will make his DHL Western Province debut in the Currie Cup encounter against the Steval Pumas at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

There have been several changes to the DHL Western Province team, for the clash which kicks off at 13h00 on Saturday, with a number of players back in the selection mix.

Fullback SP Marais will have Seabelo Senatla and Dillyn Leyds on either side of him, while EW Viljoen and Dan Kriel will link up in midfield with Michal Hazner providing cover on the replacements bench.

Justin Phillips will partner Willemse at halfback, with the experienced Jano Vermaak set to make an impact in the second half.

In the loose trio Nizaam Carr replaces the injured Sikhumbuzo Notshe at No.8, with Steph de Wit and Kobus van Dyk starting on the flanks and Johan du Toit and Jaco Coetzee among the replacements.

With the lock pairing of JD Schickerling and captain Chris van Zyl retained, the only other changes come in the front row where Ali Vermaak is joined by hooker Bongi Mbonambi and Frans van Wyk, while JC Janse van Rensburg and Currie Cup debutant Michael Kumbirai will be alongside Scarra Ntubeni on the replacements bench.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is looking forward to making the most of the home advantage in their first game at DHL Newlands this season.

“We welcome a number of talented players into the fold this week and everyone is excited by the prospect of playing at DHL Newlands.

“There has been a lot of hard work put in on the training pitch this week, so hopefully that reflects in our performance,” he said.

Please note: The match will kick-off at 13h00 at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

DHL Western Province: 15 SP Marais, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse (DHL Western Province debut), 9 Justin Phillips, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Steph de Wit, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Michael Kumbirai

Related Posts

« »