WP hunt fourth successive APC title

Aug 23 • General News, Varsity & Club • 1410 Views • Comments Off on WP hunt fourth successive APC title

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Western Province will hunt their fourth successive Southern Amateur Provincial Championship title this week as they take to field at the Smit Sports Grounds in Velddrif in the eight-team tournament.

The competition begins on Monday and will feature three rounds of matches on Monday, Wednesday and Friday respectively, with Western Province, Boland XV, Boland A, Border, Border Rural, Eastern Province, Eastern Province Rural and SWD battling it out for the top honours.

Western Province defeated SWD 13-7 in the final in Humansdorp last year to win their third title in a row and will enter the tournament as the top-ranked team.

This tournament will be followed by the APC North and Central competitions in White River and Kimberley respectively in September, while the winners will go head-to-head in three matches to crown the Annual Provincial Championship winner.

Eastern Province and Border will battle it out in the opening match of the Southern Amateur Provincial Championship on Monday at 12h00, while SWD will take on EP Rural and Boland A goes up against Border Rural.

The big match-up of the day will take place at 16h30 with defending champions Western Province going up against Western Cape neighbours, the Boland XV.

Monday’s results will determine which teams will line up in the second round on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, former Springbok Women’s player Aimee Barrett and former Western Province wing Egon Seconds, who both featured on the referee panel at the Coca-Cola Youth Weeks, will officiate matches at the tournament.

APC South fixtures, Monday 24 August:

12h00 – EP vs Border

13h30 – SWD vs EP Rural

15h00 – Boland A vs Border Rural

16h30 – WP vs Boland XV

Related Posts

« »