Xerox Golden Lions Currie Cup final

Sep 5 • Currie Cup, General News, National, South Africa • 1738 Views • Comments Off on Xerox Golden Lions Currie Cup final

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Xerox Golden Lions team to play the Toyota Free State Cheetahs in the Currie Cup final, brought to you by DirectAxis, shows one change from last week with Sti Sithole losing out due to a torn calf muscle sustained during training on Thursday.

Dylan Smith moves into the starting XV and Nathan McBeth comes onto the bench.

The Lions have scored 24 tries in this years’ Currie Cup, the second most in the competition, and 21 have been scored against them. The Cheetahs have scored 34 while also conceding 21.

Both the Lions and the Cheetahs have won the coveted trophy three times in the last 20 years.

The Lions are third on the all-time list with seven Currie Cup titles.

All five big unions have won the Currie Cup on at least one occasion in the last 20 years; the Golden Lions (formerly Transvaal) have won the trophy 3 times in 1999, 2011 and 2015; the Free State Cheetahs have won the trophy 3 times in 2005, 2007 and 2016. In 2006 the trophy was shared by the Free State Cheetahs and Blue Bulls.

Transvaal/Lions Currie Cup all-time final berths since 1939:
1939: Transvaal vs Western Province, 17-6 at Newlands
1947: Western Province vs Transvaal, 16-12 at Newlands
1950: Transvaal vs Western Province, 22-11 in Johannesburg
1952: Transvaal vs Boland, 11-9 in Wellington
1968: Northern Transvaal vs Transvaal, 16-3 in Pretoria
1971: Northern Transvaal vs Transvaal, 14-14 in Johannesburg
1972: Transvaal vs Eastern Transvaal, 25-19 in Springs
1974: Northern Transvaal vs Transvaal, 17-15 in Pretoria
1986: Western Province vs Transvaal, 22-9 at Newlands
1987: Northern Transvaal vs Transvaal, 24-18 in Johannesburg
1991: Northern Transvaal vs Transvaal, 27-15 in Pretoria
1992: Natal vs Transvaal, 14-13 in Johannesburg
1993: Transvaal vs Natal, 21-15 in Durban
1994: Transvaal vs Orange Free State, 56-33 in Bloemfontein
1996: Natal vs Transvaal, 33-15 in Johannesburg
1999: Lions vs Natal, 32-9 in Durban
2002: Blue Bulls vs Lions, 31-7 in Johannesburg
2007: Free State Cheetahs vs Lions, 20-18 in Bloemfontein
2011: Golden Lions vs Sharks, 42-16 in Johannesburg
2014: Western Province vs Golden Lions, 19-16 at Newlands
2015: Golden Lions vs Western Province, 32-24 in Johannesburg
2019: Free State Cheetahs vs Golden Lions in Bloemfontein

The match kicks off at 17:00.

Xerox Golden Lions vs Toyota Free State Cheetahs:
Tyrone Green; Madosh Tambwe, Wandisile Simelane, Duncan Matthews, Stean Pienaar; Shaun Reynolds, Ross Cronje ©; Hacjivah Dayimani, Cyle Brink, Marnus Schoeman, Marvin Orie, Ruben Schoeman, Jacobie Adriaanse, Pieter Jansen, Dylan Smith.

Jan-Henning Campher, Nathan McBeth, Johannes Jonker, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Len Massyn, Dillon Smit, Jan-Louis la Grange, Jamba Ulengo

• The Xerox Golden Lions Women’s team will travel to Cape Town where they will face SWD in the final of the Provincial B Section in their fourth consecutive final.

Xerox Golden Lions Women vs SWD:
Refilwe Ramahlo; Bonakele Sibya, Piwokuhle Nyanda, Masingita Simango, Nobuhle Tshabalala; Masingita Simango, Sarah Mokwebo; Bongiwe Nkleko, Dimakatso Sefala, Luyanda Koi, Nthabiseng Moneymore, Tshireletso Motloung, Xoliswa Thembeka, Lesego Bereng, Diana Massamba.

Zumicke Geringer, Sharon Baloyi, Althea Herman, Bongiwe Nkleko, Ntabiseng Junior Sejamoholo, Aretha Mthomo, Asithandile Dimaza

Related Posts

« »