WP XV announced to face Boland Invitational

Feb 8 • National • 4923 Views • Comments Off on WP XV announced to face Boland Invitational

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Photo by Morgan Piek /Rugby15.

DHL Western Province will continue their preparations for the 2013 Vodacom Cup competition, when a WP XV takes on a Boland Invitational XV at the Cape Town Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 12h30).

The WP XV will play in the curtain-raiser to the Regent Boland Cavaliers versus DHL Stormers clash (14h45) and the early match will give John Dobson, the DHL WP Vodacom Cup coach, another chance to survey his selection options before WP’s title defence begins next month.

Said Dobson: “Our team is beginning to take shape and it’s great to welcome four players, (hooker) Stephan Coetzee, (lock) Ruan Botha, (No.8) Rayn Smid and (centre) Berton Klaasen – all of whom played for the DHL Stormers last Saturday, into the side this week.

“I am also chuffed to see (wing) Devon Williams back on the rugby field after his life-threatening injury last year.

“I would like to make special mention and congratulate the amateur club players who have been identified by Jerome Paarwater and have trained so hard and made our squad. The team playing on Saturday is made up mainly of amateur players which just showcases the depth in this amazing province.”

Looking at the WP XV line-up for Saturday, fullback Craig Barry, centre Kobus van Wyk, scrumhalf Godlin Masimla, Smid, loose forward Vince Jobo, lock Gerbrandt Grobler and hooker Stephan Coetzee were all members of the WP Under-21 squad in 2012.

Winger Ederies Arendse, centre Berton Klaasen and lock Grobler (who will captain the team on Saturday) were all part of last year’s Vodacom Cup-winning squad, whilst lock Botha and three of last year’s WP U19 stars, Jean Kleyn, Johnny Kotze and Kyle Lombard (all of whom are on the bench), and starting loose forward Sikhumbuzo Notshe (who was still at school last year) are other names to watch out for in this side.

* Tickets for Saturday are priced at R50 and R75 and are available at Computicket, Shoprite and Shoprite Checkers. No tickets will be sold at the stadium on the day, but they can still be bought online and in the shops on Saturday.

The DHL Western Province Vodacom Cup XV to take on the Boland Invitational XV is as follows:

15. Craig Barry

14. Ederies Arendse

13. Kobus van Wyk

12. Berton Klaasen

11. Devon Williams

10. Chris Smith

9. Godlin Masimla

8. Rayn Smid

7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe

6. Vince Jobo

5. Gerbrandt Grobler (captain)

4. Ruan Botha

3. Tjoppie Ferreira

2. Stephan Coetzee

1. Ashley Wells


16. Shameeg Allen

17. Wesley Chetty

18. Christo van Wyk

19. Ryan Olivier

20. Jean Kleyn

21. Bolla Conradie

22. Johnny Kotze

23. Kyle Lombard

24. Chevandre van Schoor

25. Craig Pheiffer

26. Cobus Nel

27. Carel du Preez

Kick-off: 12h30

Related Posts

« »