Refs appointed for November internationals

Oct 7 • General News, International, World Rugby • 1737 Views • Comments Off on Refs appointed for November internationals

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
 Refs appointed for November internationals

Referee Nigel Owens will take charge of France v Australia and England v New Zealand this November

The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for upcoming November internationals.

Appointments were made by the IRB Match Official Selection Committee at its recent meeting in Dublin and follow a detailed review of recent performances during the June international window, The Rugby Championship and other matches.

South Africa’s Craig Joubert will kick off a busy month of Tests as teams and officials begin the countdown to Rugby World Cup 2015, when he takes charge of the New Zealand v USA fixture at Soldier Field in Chicago on November 1.

Steve Walsh will be the man in the middle for England’s match with the Springboks and Nigel Owens will officiate at Stade de France when Les Bleus take on Australia, as well as refereeing New Zealand’s visit to Twickenham. Wayne Barnes has been appointed to Wales v New Zealand in Cardiff, while Ireland v Australia in Dublin will be refereed by Glen Jackson. Jérôme Garces will be in charge when the Wallabies take on England and will be in Padova on November 22 to referee Italy v South Africa.

IRB High Performance Match Officials Manager Joël Jutge said: “The selection system allows for movement in and out of the match official panel based on form. It rewards the top performers and young referees who have graduated through the performance pathway.”

“As always, referees are accountable for the quality of their overall performances and these appointments have been made following careful consideration of all recent matches. With Rugby World Cup 2015 less than a year away, performances are being assessed and scrutinised with that tournament in mind.”

The IRB Match Official Selection Committee, chaired by John Jeffrey, comprises former elite referees Lyndon Bray (SANZAR), Andrew Cole (SANZAR), Donal Courtney (European Professional Club Rugby), Clayton Thomas (Six Nations) and IRB High Performance Match Officials Manager Joël Jutge.

The committee meets four times a year and makes selections for the next international window with all performances reviewed in advance of selection.

Related Posts

« »