Cell C Sharks vs. Emirates Lions

May 23 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News • 1513 Views • Comments Off on Cell C Sharks vs. Emirates Lions

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Date:Saturday 25th May 2019
Referee:Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees:Cwengile Jadezweni, Stefan Geldenhuys
Television Match Official:Christie du Preez

Cell C Sharks head coach Robert du Preez has named a slightly changed team to play the Emirates Lions at JONSSON KINGS PARK on Saturday afternoon as he welcomes back a couple of players from injury, while there are a few players who have not yet recovered and are unavailable for selection.
Most of the changes are in the pack, with Mzamo Majola coming in for Thomas du Toit at loosehead while Ruben van Heerden is back after missing the Chiefs match and partners Ruan Botha at lock. Hyron Andrews plays off the bench this week.
Daniel du Preez also returns to the starting line-up with Philip van der Walt moving back to flank and Jacques Vermeulen named amongst the replacements. Injuries to Akker van der Merwe and Craig Burden mean a possible debut for Dylan Richardson who is named as reserve hooker.
Andre Esterhuizen is back in the final change to the starting line-up and only change to a very settled backline. 
The centre admits that there’s great excitement in the camp ahead of the game. “We’re back, refreshed after the bye week and ready for this match.”
“There are a lot of positives in this group, primarily that we are not going to play with a fear of losing, we want to play to win and enjoy the game.”
With four games remaining, he admits that the two home and two away games take on great importance for the team’s campaign, particularly as congested as the table is.
“Every game is vital from now on, there are just a few points that separates the teams in the South African Conference, so we know the importance of every single game.
“But we aren’t putting pressure on ourselves; we’re going out there to enjoy it and play for each other. That’s what we thrived on during the tour and it worked for us.”

Cell C Sharks
15. Aphelele Fassi
14. Sbu Nkosi
13. Lukhanyo Am
12. Andre Esterhuizen
11. Makazole Mapimpi
10. Curwin Bosch
9. Louis Schreuder (c)
8. Daniel du Preez
7. Jean-Luc du Preez
6. Philip van der Walt
5. Ruan Botha
4. Ruben van Heerden
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
2. Kerron van Vuuren
1. Mzamo Majola
16. Dylan Richardson*
17. Juan Schoeman
18. John-Hubert Meyer
19. Hyron Andrews
20. Jacques Vermeulen
21. Cameron Wright
22. Robert du Preez
23. Kobus van Wyk
*Denotes that the player will be make his Vodacom Super Rugby debut for the Cell C Sharks, should he run onto the field.

Related Posts

« »