Emirates Lions vs Cell C Sharks

May 23 • General News, Super Rugby, Super Rugby Fixtures, Super Rugby News, SuperSport Challenge • 1526 Views • Comments Off on Emirates Lions vs Cell C Sharks

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Kwagga Smith will lead the Emirates Lions at Jonsson Kings Park against the Cell C Sharks on Saturday as Malcolm Marx sits this round out to give Jan-Henning Campher a starting berth.

Campher gets his first start for the Lions since joining at the beginning of the year.

Ross Cronje will undergo a small procedural operation which will keep him out of action for a week.

Player Announcement

The Lions Rugby Company is proud to announce that prop Dylan Smith and loose-forward Vincent Tshituka have both put pen to paper to continue their journey with the Lions until 2021.

Both are local players with Smith having matriculated at King Edward VII School in Johannesburg and Tshituka a former learner of Northcliff High.

Smith represented the Lions at Craven Week in 2011 and 2012 and a year later represented the union at Under 19 level.

The flanker Tshituka only started playing rugby in grade eight at wing. He moved to flank in grade 10 and went on to represent the Lions Academy side in 2016.

Emirates Lions vs Cell C Sharks (17:15): Andries Coetzee; Courtnall Skosan, Lionel Mapoe, Harold Vorster, Aphiwe Dyantyi; Elton Jantjies, Nic Groom; Kwagga Smith©, Cyle Brink, Marnus Schoeman, Marvin Orie, Stephan Lewies, Johannes Jonker, Jan-Henning Campher, Dylan Smith.

Reserves: Pieter Jansen, Sti Sithole, Carlu Sadie, Reinhard Nothnagel, Vincent Tshituka, Hacjivah Dayimani, Shaun Reynolds, Tyrone Green.

Supersport Rugby Challenge

Tiaan van der Merwe will start in his first Supersport Rugby Challenge game this weekend when the Xerox Golden Lions XV face the Vodacom Blue Bulls at the Bosman Stadium in Brakpan on Sunday.

This match kicks off at 12:30.

Xerox Golden Lions XV vs Vodacom Blue Bulls (12:30): Ruan Combrinck; Prince Nkabinde, Wandisile Simelane, Franco Naude, Jan-Louis la Grange; Sylvian Mahuza, Dillon Smit; Ruan Vermaak, Darrien-Lane Landsberg, James Venter ©, Wilhelm van der Sluys, Ruben Schoeman, Frans van Wyk, Tiaan van der Merwe, Nathan McBeth.

Reserves: Morne Brandon, Jacobie Adriaanse, Len Massyn, Oupa Mthiyane, Shaun Williams, Austin Davids, Kennedy Mpeku.

Related Posts

« »