Coetzee trims squad for Blue Bulls game

Aug 5 • General News, South Africa • 2963 Views • Comments Off on Coetzee trims squad for Blue Bulls game

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

DHL Western Province coach Allister Coetzee has released a 26-man squad ahead of this weekend’s Absa Currie Cup opener against the Blue Bulls at DHL Newlands.

WP Under-21 players Stephan Coetzee (hooker), Gerbrandt Grobler (lock), Tim Swiel (flyhalf), Pat Howard (centre) and Cheslin Kolbe (fullback) are all in the selection mix, along with the uncapped Maties duo of Alistair Vermaak (prop) and Ryan Nell (utility back).

Springboks Pat Cilliers (prop) and Gio Aplon (wing/fullback) are also in the frame to face the Bulls, with WP being captained by flanker Deon Fourie.

Coetzee explained: “The door is by no means closed on anyone else who has been training here these past few weeks, but I needed to focus on a core group of players with the eye on the first game.

“We have Pat and Gio available to us this week, but are without the rest of our Springboks who have been selected in the Rugby Championship squad.

“I am happy with our preparations and we’re looking forward to Saturday’s match against the Bulls. North-South derbies are always big games and we’re not expecting anything different come this weekend. We’re excited to be starting our campaign at home and we’re hoping to have a big crowd at DHL Newlands in our opening match of the 2013 Absa Currie Cup season.”

The WP coach will announce his matchday 22, to face the Bulls, at lunch-time on Wednesday.

* Meanwhile, match tickets are still available for Saturday’s match, which will be preceded by two curtain-raisers (DHL WP Under-19 and Under-21 v Border). Tickets can be purchased online, by clicking here, from Postnet Outlets or the Newlands Box Office (from next Tuesday onwards).

Prices start at just R35 (for standing), with seating tickets priced from R65 to R95. Scholars tickets can be purchased directly from the WP Rugby offices.

The DHL WP squad preparing to face the Blue Bulls (26):

Forwards (13):
Scarra Ntubeni
Stephan Coetzee
Steven Kitshoff
Alistair Vermaak
Pat Cilliers
Brok Harris
Gerbrandt Grobler
De Kock Steenkamp
Ruan Kitshoff
Deon Fourie (captain)
Michael Rhodes
Rynhardt Elstadt
Nizaam Carr

Backs (13):
Louis Schreuder
Nic Groom
Gary van Aswegen
Tim Swiel
Kurt Coleman
Berton Klaasen
Damian de Allende
Pat Howard
Ryan Nell
Gerhard van den Heever
Ederies Arendse
Cheslin Kolbe
Gio Aplon

Related Posts

« »