Coleman steps in for DHL WP

Jun 1 • General News • 1076 Views • Comments Off on Coleman steps in for DHL WP

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Flyhalf Kurt Coleman will make his first appearance of the season for DHL Western Province in their SuperSport Rugby Challenge encounter with the Border Bulldogs in Mdantsane on Sunday.

Coach John Dobson’s team will be looking for their sixth consecutive win of the season and they’re second against the Bulldogs in a match that kicks off at 15h00 at Sisa Dukashe Stadium in what should be their toughest match of the campaign thus far.

Having recently returned from an ankle injury, Coleman will start in the No.10 jersey with Brandon Thomson shifting to inside-centre in the only change to the backline.

Grant Hermanus returns from illness last week to take his place alongside fellow backs Godlen Masimla and Harlon Klaasen on the replacements bench.

There are three changes to the forward pack with Johan du Toit getting an opportunity at blindside flank, whilst Ruben de Villiers replaces the rested JD Schickerling at lock and hooker Dean Muir comes into the starting line-up.

This means that Chad Solomon and Luke Stringer are set to provide impact up front from the replacements bench along with Frans van Wyk and Nyasha Tarusenga.

Dobson said that although his team is yet to lose, they know that they will have to raise their game further if they are to remain unbeaten after the trip to Mdantsane.

“We have seen what Border are capable of and we know that there will be no shortage of motivation for them in front of their home crowd. We have no doubt this is going to be a special occasion at a unique venue in front of a big crowd.

“Border is a re-invigorated union, a physical team with passionate support and we said from the start of this campaign that this would be our toughest game.

“There are still a number of areas in which we can improve, so we want to focus on our game and deliver a high standard of rugby,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Khanyo Ngcukana, 13 Michal Hazner, 12 Brandon Thomson, 11 Marcello Sampson, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Justin Phillips, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Eital Bredenkamp, 5 Ruben de Villiers, 4 Jurie van Vuuren, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Dean Muir, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Frans van Wyk, 18 Luke Stringer, 19 Nyasha Tarusenga, 20 Godlen Masimla, 21 Harlon Klaasen, 22 Grant Hermanus.

Related Posts

« »