Final Toyota Cheetahs Super Rugby squad announced

Feb 8 • General News, National, Super Rugby, Super Rugby News • 3132 Views • Comments Off on Final Toyota Cheetahs Super Rugby squad announced

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Juan Smith back in action alongside the exciting Lappies Labuschagne. Both got the nod for the final Super Rugby squad. Photo by Hannes Naude/ Spektor Fotografie.

Morgan Piek – The Toyota Cheetahs have finalised their final squad of 35 players on the eve of their final and arguably toughest warm-up game.

Naka Drotske’s men have made the long trek up to Polokwane to face the ever tough Vodacom Bulls. From the outset Drotske said this would be their game where they field their best possible and available team.

The men from Bloemfontein will go into the match with a bit more confidence after beating the much more fancied DHL Stormers in a rather mundane affair last weekend. For 70 minutes the game never found any rhythm and was much like watching paid dry.

Game sparked in the final 10 minutes when both sides opened considerably. The Toyota Cheetahs snatched a last minute victory via a 55 metre penalty by Hansie Graaff.

The most promising sign of the entire game in my opinion was that Graaff had no hesitation in taking the incredibly long attempt on goal. It was great to see the young flyhalf, who has been utilised as bit of an utility back was not intimidated by the distance of the kick. I would go as far as to put on record that Graaff cemented his spotted in the 35-man squad with that kick.

The Toyota Cheetahs won the game 27-26.

The Final squad is as follows:

Backs: Hennie Daniller, Hansie Graaff, Willie le Roux, Riaan Smit, Johann Sadie, Barry Geel, Robert Ebersohn, Rayno Benjamin, Raymond Rhule, Rocco Jansen, Johan Goosen, Elgar Watts, Francois Brummer, Piet van Zyl, Sarel Pretorius, Tewis de Bruyn.

Forwards: Lappies Labuschagné, Heinrich Brüssow, Juan Smith, Philip van der Walt, Davon Raubenheimer, Frans Viljoen, Boom Prinsloo, Francois Uys, Ligtoring Landman, Lood de Jager, Andries Ferreira, Rossouw de Klerk, Lourens Adriaanse, Coenie Oosthuizen, Trevor Nyakane, Caylib Oosthuizen, Adriaan Strauss, Ryno Barnes, Hercu Liebenberg.

Related Posts

« »