Jul 11 • Australia, General News • 1451 Views • Comments Off on McCALMAN AWARDED 2015 NATHAN SHARPE MEDAL

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Western Force No.8 Ben McCalman has claimed the 2015 Nathan Sharpe Medal at the Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre in Perth tonight.


In an event that celebrated the club’s 10 seasons in Asteron Life Super Rugby, the award acknowledged McCalman’s outstanding year for the Force, with incumbent Wallaby No.8 also claiming the Geoff Stooke Award for a second successive season with his on-field efforts complemented by his contribution through the team’s Standards Group.


In the other awards, the Sea of Blue’s cult hero Steve Mafi received the Members’ Most Valuable Player while local products Kane Koteka and Ryan Louwrens were joint winners of the club’s Rising Star Award in their first year of Asteron Life Super Rugby.


For McCalman, it was a case of third time lucky after finishing runner-up to Kyle Godwin (2013) and Matt Hodgson (2014) in the past two years. The 27-year-old, who re-signed with the Force for another three seasons last month, polled the most number of votes in five matches during the season – including the first three of the season against the NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds and Wellington Hurricanes.


McCalman finished with a club record 378 points – eclipsing the previous record of 343 points set by Hodgson last year.


The Nathan Sharpe Medal is determined by each member of the match day 23 voting for their peers on a 3, 2, 1 basis.


McCalman finished ahead of Mafi (225 votes), who is currently on duty with the Tongan national team, and fullback Dane Haylett-Petty (170).


Abrasive back-rower Angus Cottrell (142) stormed home, polling 96 points in the final five matches to finish fourth, while 2014 Rising Star, Adam Coleman, finished the season with 134 votes.


2015 Nathan Sharpe Medal Dinner – Award Winners


Nathan Sharpe Medal: Ben McCalman

Geoffrey Stooke Award: Ben McCalman

Rising Star: Kane Koteka & Ryan Louwrens

Members’ MVP: Steve Mafi


2015 Nathan Sharpe Medal – Top Five

Ben McCalman – 378 votes

Steve Mafi – 225 votes

Dane Haylett-Petty – 170 votes

Angus Cottrell – 142 votes

Adam Coleman – 134 votes


Nathan Sharpe Medal – Honour Roll

2015 – Ben McCalman

2014 – Matt Hodgson

2013 – Kyle Godwin

2012 – David Pocock

2011 – David Smith

2010 – Matt Hodgson

2009 – Matt Hodgson

2008 – Ryan Cross

2007 – Matt Giteau

2006 – Scott Staniforth


Western Force Team of the Decade

1. Pek Cowan, 2. Brendan Cannon, 3. Kieran Longbottom, 4. Sam Wykes, 5. Nathan Sharpe (c), 6. Matt Hodgson, 7. David Pocock, 8. Ben McCalman, 9. Alby Mathewson, 10. Matt Giteau, 11. Nick Cummins, 12. Scott Staniforth, 13. Ryan Cross, 14. Drew Mitchell, 15. Cameron Shepherd.


Related Posts

« »