Munster team to face Cardiff Blues named

Sep 20 • General News, Guinness Pro14 • 1275 Views • Comments Off on Munster team to face Cardiff Blues named

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Munster Head Coach Johann van Graan has named his side to face Cardiff Blues in the Guinness PRO14 at Cardiff Arms Park on Friday night (7.35pm, live on eir Sport and TG4).

There are six changes to the side that beat Ospreys last week as CJ Stander makes his first appearance of the season in a back row that also includes captain Peter O’Mahony and Chris Cloete.

JJ Hanrahan comes into the side at full-back and there is an all-changed centre partnership with Jaco Taute making his first start since returning from injury alongside Rory Scannell.

Hooker Mike Sherry and second row Jean Kleyn are the only two alterations to the pack.

Hanrahan joins Andrew Conway and Darren Sweetnam in the back three as Duncan Williams and Joey Carbery continue their half-back partnership.

James Cronin and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with Sherry and Kleyn joins Tadhg Beirne in the engine room.

O’Mahony, Cloete and Stander make up the back row.

Three Greencore Munster Rugby Academy players are among the replacements. Hooker Diarmuid Barron, scrum-half Jack Stafford and winger Shane Daly are all included with Barron in line to make his senior debut.

Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell and Bill Johnston complete the squad.

Munster: JJ Hanrahan; Andrew Conway, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Joey Carbery, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Dave Kilcoyne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack Stafford, Bill Johnston, Shane Daly.

Player update – Keith Earls and Rhys Marshall reported knocks during the week and were not available for selection.

Related Posts

« »