New Sponsor for Murray Cup

Jul 13 • Club Rugby, General News, Varsity & Club • 7736 Views • Comments Off on New Sponsor for Murray Cup

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

One of the oldest and most prestigious Club Rugby competitions in the world, the Murray Cup, has received the backing of a new title sponsor, Hollywoodbets.

Hollywoodbets’ title sponsorship sees them receive naming rights for the tournament, which will now be known as the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup competition.

Together with Hollywoodbets, the KZNRU is committed to further extending the appeal of this exciting tournament that dates back to 1890, when the then Union President Mr. T.K. Murray presented this cup to be played on a ‘knock-out’ system.

Commenting on the partnership, GM of the KZNRU Siseko Jafta said: “We are delighted to welcome Hollywoodbets to our club rugby family and look forward to a successful and mutually beneficial partnership.  Together with our other associate sponsors, we are eager to build on the success of this tournament and hopefully, take it to a new level.”

Speaking on behalf of Hollywoodbets, its Media and Communications Executive, Devin Heffer expressed these sentiments: “At Hollywoodbets we believe in investing in the communities that we are a part of and we are particularly passionate about developing sport. Being involved in an esteemed club competition like the Murray Cup allows us to take our brand to all corners of KwaZulu-Natal and to have a supportive influence on rugby, at a grassroots level.

“The KZNRU and the Murray Cup Committee have put together some great concepts and innovations in their planning for this year’s tournament, which we believe will be dynamic and entertaining – traits our company attempts to embody in everything we do. We are also looking to leave our purple touch on the tournament and to bring our Hollywoodbets energy and flair to the rugby field.”

The Hollywoodbets Murray Cup competition commences on Saturday, 4th August with the KZNRU Fidelity Security Premier League teams playing the top Fidelity Security First Division Clubs from the North and South regions of KwaZulu-Natal.  There are several new exciting competition rules that have already been confirmed, while others are in the pipeline and will be communicated in due course.

‘Finals Day’, of not just the Hollywoodbets Murray Cup competition, but also all the other Club rugby knockout finals, will be played at the Crusaders Rugby Club on Saturday 1st September 2018.  The Cell C Sharks junior teams will play their respective championship matches at the same venue on the day.

The scene is set for a festival of club rugby action over the next few weeks and with the support of our valued sponsors and club rugby enthusiasts throughout our province, we anticipate yet another memorable year of club rugby action.

Additional Information

Rules changes confirmed for the 2018 tournament

●     No kicking outside of your own 22m for the first 10minures of each half;
●     Tries scored under the poles do not require a conversion (automatic 7points);
●     Conversions must be taken within 30 seconds;
●     One strategic break per half, meaning there will be four 20 minutes quarters to the game;
●     Each squad will comprise of 25 players.

Related Posts

« »