Next generation for DHL WP at Loftus

Aug 4 • General News, National • 1747 Views • Comments Off on Next generation for DHL WP at Loftus

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

There are six Under-21 players in the DHL Western Province match-day squad to face the Vodacom Blue Bulls in their opening Currie Cup Premier Division clash at Loftus Versfeld on Friday.

Wings Leolin Zas and Khanyo Ngcukana, centre Daniel du Plessis, loose forward Jacques Vermeulen, lock JD Schickerling and utility replacement back Brandon Thomson, are all still eligible for DHL Western Province U21, but will do duty for the senior team in a match that kicks off at 17h10 on Friday.

In the backline, Zas and Ngcukana will link up with fullback Scott van Breda, whilst Du Plessis partners Huw Jones in midfield, with flyhalf Robert du Preez and experienced vice-captain Jano Vermaak forming the halfback pairing.

Vermeulen starts at No.8 to form an imposing loose trio with flanks Jurie van Vuuren and Rynhardt Elstadt. Schickerling is in the second row alongside captain Chris Van Zyl, and tighthead prop Wilco Louw links up with Scarra Ntubeni and Alistair Vermaak in the front row.

Thomson is amongst the backline replacements, along with scrumhalf Godlen Masimla and utility back Johnny Kotze.

Hooker Chad Solomon and props Oli Kebble and JP Smith form the front row cover on the replacements bench alongside loose forward Kobus van Dyk.

Coach John Dobson said that his team has embraced the challenge of travelling to Loftus Versfeld to take on the Vodacom Blue Bulls in their opening match of the Currie Cup Premier Division ahead of their bye next week.

“This team certainly does not lack talent or enthusiasm, and although we have not had a lot of time together as a group, we are excited about taking on this challenge,” he said.

Dobson added that he expects the senior players in the team to play a big role in what will be a testing start to their campaign.

“It is a relatively young side, but we have got experienced players in key positions and they will hopefully provide some guidance for the considerable young talent we will have out there,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Khanyo Ngcukana, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Daniel du Plessis, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Jacques Vermeulen, 7 Jurie van Vuuren, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 JP Smith, 19 Kobus van Dyk, 20 Godlen Masimla, 21 Brandon Thomson, 22 Johnny Kotze.

Related Posts

« »