SA U20’s make wholesale changes for second tour match

Apr 15 • BabyBoks U20, International, Junior Rugby • 2472 Views • Comments Off on SA U20’s make wholesale changes for second tour match

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The SA Under-20 training squad to face Argentina Under-20 in their second tour match on Tuesday, 16 April show thirteen changes from the starting fifteen that won their tour opener 26-3 on Saturday evening in Corrientes.


Tomorrow’s rugby match will kick-off at 23h00 SA time and will also be played in Corrientes. The South African youngsters are in Argentina as part of their final preparations for the forthcoming Junior World Championship (JWC) in France.


Justin Geduld (inside centre) and Dennis Visser (No 5 lock) are the only two players in the team that also started on Saturday.


The speedy Seabelo Senatla, a Springbok Sevens team mate of Geduld, will run out at left wing while 2012 JWC winner Handrè Pollard was selected in the flyhalf position. Pollard is also understudy to Ruan Steenkamp who will captain the team from the side of the scrum.


Steenkamp scored two tries on Saturday in the heavy and wet conditions of Corrientes.


Jannie Stander (lock), Robert du Preez (flyhalf) and Sylvian Mahuza (fullback) were included on the bench after starting on Saturday. The last clash of the three-match tour will be played this coming Saturday in Buenos Aires.


SA U20 coach, Dawie Theron, attributed the many changes to their rotation policy. “We want to give every squad member a chance to play on tour. I am pleased with the overall result of our first game, but we know that the Pumas will come with an even bigger onslaught on Tuesday,” explained Theron.


He cautioned his team will not be able to afford another slow start again their hosts. “They will make it extremely difficult for us again right from the start so we will have to concentrate and get into our stride from early on.”


The SA U20 Training Squad vs. Argentina U20:


15. Jacques Rossouw      (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

14. Tyler Fisher                  (The Sharks)

13. Justin Geduld             (SARU contracted)

12. Dries Swanepoel       (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

11. Seabelo Senatla         (SARU contracted)

10. Handrè Pollard           (Vodacom Blue Bulls, vice-captain)

9. Hanco Venter               (The Sharks)

8. Johan Meyer                 (The Sharks)

7. Jurie van Vuuren         (DHL Western Province)

6. Ruan Steenkamp         (Vodacom Blue Bulls, captain)

5. Dennis Visser                (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

4. Irne Herbst                    (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

3. Luan de Bruin                (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

2. Malcolm Marx              (MTN Golden Lions)

1. Sti Sithole                       (DHL Western Province)


Reserves (roving substitutions):


16. Fred Kirsten                (DHL Western Province)

17. Andrew Beerwinkel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

18. Jannie Stander           (MTN Golden Lions)

19. Jannes Kirsten            (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

20. Stefan Ungerer          (The Sharks)

21. Robert du Preez        (The Sharks)

22. Sylvian Mahuza          (Leopards)

23. Neethling Fouché     (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Related Posts

« »